Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Occupational and environmental health
OEDA (William Ashton Tait) Archives
The records of the Occupational and Environmental Diseases Association documenting the charity’s pursuit over thirty years of fairer compensation for victims of industrial injury, improved legislation, better protection for workers and an asbestos-free environment.
OEDA Chase Manhattan Turner & Newall papers
Copies of content from the corporate archive of Turner & Newall (T&N), leading asbestos manufacturer.
Alan Dalton papers
Papers of Alan Dalton (1946-2003), safety and environmental campaigner.
Laurie Flynn papers on the asbestos industry
Papers of Laurie Flynn (b. 1946), investigative journalist.
W H Knight papers
Correspondence and papers relating to W H Knight’s claims arising from working conditions at Land Rover UK Ltd 1962-1981.
Records of the Cancer Prevention Society, Glasgow
Records of the Cancer Prevention Society, a Glasgow-based charity and volunteer centre.
M. J. Sanders papers
Papers of M.J. Sanders (1960-1999), Safety Officer at Warren Spring Laboratory, Stevenage, the UK Government's environmental research laboratory.
For more information on our collections regarding asbestos, see our Asbestos guide.
Oral history collections on occupational and environmental health
Health and medicine - general
Articles and blogposts on health and medicine
Clydebank's asbestos legacy
Clydebank was once known as the asbestos capital of Europe due to the sheer quantity that was produced, supplying much of western Scotland with its construction materials. Unfortunately, this title was also given because of the sheer number of victims of the killer dust. Mesothelioma struck Clydebank the hardest between 1976-1991, and by 1996 Clydebank still suffered from a mortality rate up to 11 times higher than the national average. For all the jobs that the asbestos industry provided, it claimed many more lives.
Killer dust: cataloguing and preserving the asbestos collections at the University of Strathclyde
Killer dust was a two year project funded by the Wellcome Trust to catalogue and preserve several remarkable occupational and environmental health archive collections at the University of Strathclyde.
OEDA (William Ashton Tait) Archives
OEDA’s sprawling archives occupy well over 100 shelf metres. They document how the charity pursued its objectives over thirty years: fairer compensation for victims of industrial injury, improved legislation, better protection for workers, an asbestos-free environment, and a shoulder to lean on for all those afflicted by industrial disease.
Digitisation of the Scottish Oral History Centre collections
Since its foundation in 1995 the Scottish Oral History Centre (SOHC) has initiated a wealth of oral history projects, many of them with occupational health themes. Preservation of the Centre’s sound recordings began in 2015, when over 500 compact cassettes were archived. Those relating to the medical humanities - about half the collection - have now been digitised and transcribed with the help of Wellcome Trust funding.
The Laurie Flynn papers on the asbestos industry
Laurie Flynn is an investigative journalist and award-winning film maker and writer. As a young reporter in the 1970s, he developed a particular interest in the health hazards of asbestos. After covering asbestos trials in London and writing about Glasgow laggers for The Socialist Worker (pictured), he began to track the international activities of the asbestos industry.
Patrick Geddes: Sex Educationist
Patrick Geddes (1854-1932) was an advocate for sexual education at a time when the subject’s appropriateness and efficacy were hotly debated amongst varying factions. On the one side were health groups like the British Social Hygiene Council, which happened to count Auckland Geddes, a relative of Patrick’s, amongst its founding members. They insisted that education was integral to the prevention of venereal disease and that ‘the promotion of the high and equal standard of sex conduct for men and women’ was necessary to maintaining a high standard of public health. On the other side were purity organizations such as the National Vigilance Association and the Alliance of Honour which concerned themselves with curbing ‘public immorality’.
Royal Technical College students hard at work in School of Pharmacy laboratory, c.1920
Established at the Royal Technical College in 1920 under the auspices of the British Pharmaceutical Society and the Glasgow and West of Scotland Association of Chemists, the School of Pharmacy rapidly grew in prestige and fame becoming the largest School of Pharmacy in the UK in the span of a decade.
Botanical illustration, c.1830, used for teaching at Anderson’s University
This is one of a series of German hand coloured plates from Wagner’s Pharmaceutische-Mediziner Botanik from about 1830, which was used for teaching at Anderson’s University.
The Anatomy of Melancholy
Burton’s encyclopaedic volume covers many aspects of human emotion. He references the writings of classical authors and contemporary medical men in order to dissect the condition of Melancholy, which, according to ancient and medieval medicine, was attended with gloominess and depression, and arose from an imbalance of the four bodily humours - blood, phlegm, black bile and yellow bile – with an over-preponderance of black bile.
Bidloo's Anatomical Atlas
Published in 1685 by the Dutch anatomist, Govard Bidloo (1649 – 1713), ‘Anatomia Humani Corporis’ was the first large-scale anatomical atlas since Vesalius’ ‘De Humani Corporis Fabric’ of 1543, and heralded a more scientific approach to anatomical illustration.
History of health and medicine source list
While the source list is not intended as an exhaustive list of everything related to the history of health and medicine in the University of Strathclyde's Archives and Special Collections it does offer a wide selection of books and archives available for anyone interested in the subject.