Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Glasgow - general
Books and ephemera on the history and description of Glasgow.
OEDA (William Ashton Tait) Archives
The records of the Occupational and Environmental Diseases Association documenting the charity’s pursuit over thirty years of fairer compensation for victims of industrial injury, improved legislation, better protection for workers and an asbestos-free environment. Includes material on victims in Glasgow.
Records of the Cancer Prevention Society, Glasgow
Records of the Cancer Prevention Society, a Glasgow-based charity and volunteer centre.
File on Glasgow laggers and asbestos
From the papers of Laurie Flynn, investigative journalist.
George Wyllie papers
The papers of George Wyllie (1921-2012), Glasgow born artist and sculptor, working in regenerative, performance and public art. Includes sketches, travel diaries, notebooks, slides, photographs, reviews, press cuttings and scrapbooks relating to all of the artist’s projects and exhibitions.
Papers of Colin and Gerri Kirkwood relating to community activism, writers' workshops and adult educational work in Glasgow and elsewhere.
Glasgow Novel collection
Fictional works in which the city of Glasgow is an integral element or theme.
Glasgow Dilettanti Society records
Formed in 1825 in Glasgow as a society for the improvement of the fine arts.
Glasgow Typographical Society records
Formed in 1817 by the letter-press printers of Glasgow to represent the master printers and other workers in the industry. One of the earliest trade unions in Britain.
Glasgow Stock Exchange collection
The Glasgow Stock Exchange was founded in 1844 and merged with other exchanges in Scotland in 1964 to become the Scottish Stock Exchange.
In addition to the above sources, the records of the University of Strathclyde and its antecedents including Jordanhill College of Education are a rich source for the study of academic and student life in Glasgow. See Education and Training subject guide for details of these records.
Oral history collections on Glasgow
Articles and blogposts on Glasgow
George Wyllie, the Whysman
George Wyllie is one of Scotland’s most popular artists. Born in Glasgow in 1921, he first became a sailor and then a customs officer, but rapidly acquired a national and international reputation as an artist and sculptor. His work, which he called Scul?ture, was famous for its question mark motifs. His best known works are ‘The Straw Locomotive,’ ‘The Paper Boat,’ ‘A Day Down a Goldmine’, ‘Equilibrium of Spires’ and ‘The Cosmic Voyage.’
The University of Strathclyde in 50 items
Read about the project to post one item from Strathclyde University Archives and Special Collections each week throughout 2014 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the granting of the royal charter of the University of Strathclyde.
The Glasgow Athenæum Calendar
The Glasgow Athenæum was established in 1847 and was originally housed on Ingram Street with the purpose of providing commercial, literary and scientific training for young men and women.
Digitisation of the Scottish Oral History Centre collections
Since its foundation in 1995 the Scottish Oral History Centre (SOHC) has initiated a wealth of oral history projects, many of them with occupational health themes.
University gates at the Glasgow Garden Festival, 1988
The large ornamental gates and transoms (semi-circular arches) of wrought iron trelliswork of the Royal College building were removed in the 1960s. They were fully restored for the Glasgow Garden Festival in 1988 where they welcomed visitors arriving across Bells Bridge. Following the event they were returned to their rightful place where they can still be seen today at the main entrance to the Royal College building on George Street.
Glasgow Literary Bonds
This website offers a list and contextualised information on approximately 190 literary societies that were running in Glasgow during the long nineteenth century (here defined as 1800 to 1914).
George Wyllie: The Why?s Man
Website celebrating the work of George Wyllie, scul?tor, musician, dramatist, and poet.
Collections at other repositories
Glasgow City Archives
Records of Glasgow City Council and its predecessors plus many private collections
University of Glasgow Archives
Records of the University of Glasgow plus internationally important collection of business records.
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons, Glasgow
Archives, rare books and museum objects relating to medicine, surgery and dentistry, with a strong focus on Glasgow and the West of Scotland.
Royal Conservatoire of Scotland archives and collections
Records of the Conservatoire and its predecessors plus historic musical instruments, music manuscripts and papers of performers.
Glasgow School of Art archives and collections
Records of Glasgow School of Art plus artworks, architectural drawings, textile pieces, plaster casts, photographs and furniture.
Glasgow Caledonian University archives and special collections
Records of the University and its predecessors plus collections relating to Scottish Labour and Trades Union Movement, Scottish social work, social policy and child welfare, and Scottish social enterprise.