Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: About us

Guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections at the University of Strathclyde

Archives and Special Collections collects, preserves and provides access to the University of Strathclyde's archives and special collections. ​

Our collections include: ​

  • the official records of the University of Strathclyde documenting its history from its foundation in 1796​

  • records of many other organisations, persons, and families​

  • over 35 collections of rare or significant printed material and books spanning the 16th to the 21st centuries. ​

Our aims are:​

  • to act as the guardian of the University’s collective memory​

  • to support and stimulate creative research and learning within and beyond the University​

  • to enhance the reputation of the University as a leading international technological university​

Our objectives in pursuit of these aims are:​

  • to identify and select archives and special collections of enduring value​

  • to preserve the University’s archives and special collections for current and future use​

  • to provide access to the University’s archives and special collections and to promote their use as informational, cultural and research resources​

Please refer to our collection policy document for further details of the type of material we collect.​

 

Inspiring Women at Strathclyde

Archives and Special Collections annual report

Welcome to the Archives and Special Collections Annual Report for 2019-2020 - a celebration of our work collecting, protecting, making accessible and promoting the unique research collections of the University.

Archives and Special Collections annual report 2019-2020

Contact Archives and Special Collections

Email

archives@strath.ac.uk

Phone

+44(0)141 548 2497

Full contact details

Customer Service Excellence

The Archives and Special Collections team is committed to putting the customer at the heart of our services and holds Customer Service Excellence accreditation as part of the Library and Information Resources team.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home