Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Wyllie papers
The papers of George Wyllie (1921-2012), Glasgow born artist and sculptor, working in regenerative, performance and public art. Includes sketches, travel diaries, notebooks, slides, photographs, reviews, press cuttings and scrapbooks relating to all of the artist’s projects and exhibitions.
Glasgow Dilettanti Society collection
Books relating to the fine arts and art history dating from the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes exhibition and sale catalogues.
Glasgow Dilettanti Society records
Formed in 1825 in Glasgow as a society for the improvement of the fine arts.
Patrick Geddes papers
The papers of Patrick Geddes (1854-1932), biologist, sociologist, pioneering town planner and one of the greatest social thinkers of his time. Geddes had a strong interest in art, culture and using performance for education through his Masque of Learning pageants.
Conversation with Cordelia Oliver
Recording of interview with Cordelia Oliver (1923-2009), journalist, painter and art critic
Genealogical charts of Helen Tooker
23 illustrated charts tracing the ancestry of Helen Tooker's parents, Emily White Perkins and Harry Landon Tooker, back into early English, Irish and Scottish history.
University of Strathclyde Collins Gallery records
The Collins Gallery presented exhibitions and events spanning contemporary fine and applied art, sculpture, photography, local history and architecture.
Charles Rennie Mackintosh:
Elizabeth Meikle papers
Elizabeth Meikle was a teacher training student at Jordanhill College of Education, Glasgow from 1962 to 1963. Her papers include an art lesson and exercise notebook.
Mary Dixon papers
Mary Dixon was a teacher training student at Jordanhill College of Education, Glasgow from 1964 to 1967. Her papers include material on art, music and Scottish dance.
Student's teaching practice diary
Marjorie Cairns was a teacher training student at Jordanhill College of Education, Glasgow from 1944 to 1945. This diary is a record of her teaching practice at Hillhead School and includes lessons on art.
Student's teaching practice diary
John McCutcheon was a teacher training student at Jordanhill College of Education, Glasgow from 1933 to 1934. This diary is of his teaching practice at Allan Glen's School, 1933-1934, and records lessons on art and design.
Articles and blogposts
Charles Rennie Mackintosh designs
Charles Rennie Mackintosh (1868-1928), Scottish architect, designer and artist, was one of the most creative figures of the early twentieth century. His contribution to design and architecture is still internationally recognised, celebrated and respected today. What is, however, perhaps less well known is that a small number of his works are held here at Strathclyde University Archives.
George Wyllie, the Whysman
To tie in with the current Glasgow-wide Whysman Festival celebrating the work of artist, George Wyllie, this month we have picked some images from our George Wyllie Archive.
Posters of Strathclyde Theatre Group productions from the 1970s
The above are a selection of posters from our extensive Strathclyde Theatre Group archive. The Group, which grew out of the University’s Department of English Studies, was founded in 1971 by Hugo Gifford, the University’s first director of drama. A radical, experimental company with a varied and challenging programme, it produced a wide variety of plays ranging from ancient Greek drama to new writing and contemporary work not otherwise seen in Scotland. The Group acted as an informal academy of theatre arts for the University, the City of Glasgow and Scotland and helped launch the careers of many actors, directors and writers.
Patrick Geddes and the Book of Autumn
Patrick Geddes was a key figure of the Celtic Revival in Scotland in the late 19th century. Geddes surrounded himself with artists and creative thinkers, and in 1894 the company, Patrick Geddes and Colleagues, was formed as a publishing venture based in Edinburgh. One of its first publications was ‘The Evergreen’ a seasonal almanac published in 1895-1896 which brought the Celtic Renascence to the reader through art, literature and science.
George Wyllie’s Monument to Maternity, 1996
George Wyllie (1921-2012), one of Scotland’s best-loved artists and sculptors, created this towering safety pin sculpture in 1996. He designed it for Mayfest, an annual arts festival in Glasgow that ran from 1983 to 1997. The 21-foot high, stainless steel pin was constructed at the Greenock Welding Company to Wyllie’s specifications, and erected at Glasgow Cross, where it was unveiled on 2 May 1996 to mark the beginning of that year’s festival.
Papers of Verity Lambert
Here at Strathclyde University Archives we are delighted to have, in our care, two of the iconic BAFTA masks. But to whom did they belong and what led them to our archive?
The answer lies in the career of Verity Ann Lambert (1935-2007) OBE, internationally acclaimed television and film producer. Gifted to the University in 2008, the BAFTAs form a unique and integral part of the Papers of Verity Lambert (T-LAM), and are representative of an exceptional and pioneering career in the entertainment industry.
Collections at other repositories