Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Access & Services

Guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections at the University of Strathclyde

Access to Archives and Special Collections

Access to Archives and Special Collections – update 8 November 2022

The Archives and Special Collections reading room is now open by appointment only. Our appointment hours are 10am - 4pm Monday - Friday. Please contact us to discuss your appointment.

The Library is undertaking a refurbishment programme to replace all of the existing windows with upgraded, more energy-efficient triple glazing. There may be some noise in the Archives and Special Collections reading room while this work is carried out. There may also be a delay in retrieving material from some collections. We apologise for the disruption.

Everything you need to know about visiting, handling materials and making use of our copying services.

Everyone is welcome to visit the reading room and use our resources.

University of Strathclyde staff and students

All staff and students are welcome to visit and use our resources. Contact us to make an appointment or discuss your enquiry.

Library members may request books from Archives and Special Collections via SUPrimo. Simply sign into your library account, search for the book and select request. Archives and Special Collections staff will contact you to arrange an appointment when the book is available to view in the reading room.

All material in Archives and Special Collections is reference only and may only be consulted in the reading room. Please present your student or staff card as proof of identity and familiarise yourself with the reading room regulations.

Visitors

Everyone is welcome to visit and use our resources. Please contact us in advance of your visit, so that material can be retrieved from store, access to the library arranged and a place reserved for you in the reading room.

The reading room is located on Level 5 of the Andersonian Library in the Curran building in Glasgow city centre. The entrance to the library is off Cathedral Street.

We have prepared a Visitor Information Sheet which contains all the information you will need for your visit. Please familiarise yourself with the reading room regulations.

Enquiries

If you have an enquiry about our resources and are unable to attend the reading room in person, please contact us by email, telephone or letter. There is no charge for our enquiry service, but we are unable to undertake lengthy research on your behalf. We aim to reply to you within 20 working days.

Please give us as much information as possible, and tell us about any other sources you have already checked.

The Archives and Special Collections reading room

The reading room is located on level 5 of the Andersonian Library in the Curran building. The reading room is a bright and comfortable environment, with laptop places and tables for group or individual research.

Most of our material is unique and irreplaceable. Please familiarise yourself with the reading room regulations before and during your visit. Always use a pencil in the reading room and follow the advice of the reading room supervisor for handling the materials.

Donations

Archives and Special Collections benefits regularly from donations. We greatly appreciate these gifts. Over the years they have significantly augmented our collections.

We are particularly interested in the following items:

  • Photographs
  • Student lecture notes
  • Course handbooks
  • Class yearbooks
  • Student club and society memorabilia
  • Student magazines
  • Records of University staff
  • Collections relating to University teaching or research interests

If you would like to offer material, please submit your details and a description of the material using the Donations Offer Form.

Please refer to our collection policy document for further details of the type of material we collect.

Contact Archives and Special Collections

Email

archives@strath.ac.uk

Phone

+44(0)141 548 2497

Full contact details

Search our collections

For more advice on searching please see our search guide.

Appointment hours & location

Reading room appointment hours

Please note you must make an appointment in advance. Appointments will be offered between the following hours.

  • Monday to Friday 10.00 - 16.50

Please note: The reading room will be closed on public holidays. It is also sometimes necessary to close the archive at short notice but any forthcoming closures will be announced on our Twitter feed.

Location

The reading room is located on level 5 of the Andersonian library.

Copying services

See our copying services guide for information on requesting copies, taking your own photographs of material and requesting permission to publish material from our collections.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home