LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections: Archives

Introduction

We have over a kilometre of archives documenting a wide range of human activity. Our holdings include the records of the University of Strathclyde itself as well as the records of many external organisations, persons and families. A multitude of subjects, places and time periods are covered. Many of our archive collections are of regional, national or international significance.

Notable collections include:

University of Strathclyde Archives
The official records of the University of Strathclyde documenting its history from its foundation in 1796 as a place of 'useful learning' and of education for all, regardless of gender or social class.
Patrick Geddes papers
The papers of Patrick Geddes (1854-1932), biologist, sociologist, pioneering town planner and one of the greatest social thinkers of his time.
OEDA (William Ashton Tait) Archives
The records of the Occupational and Environmental Diseases Association documenting the charity’s pursuit over thirty years of fairer compensation for victims of industrial injury, improved legislation, better protection for workers and an asbestos-free environment.
Scottish Oral History Centre Archive
An extensive and growing collection of oral history recordings focusing on the history of work, occupational health and the social impact of de-industrialisation.
George Wyllie papers
The papers of George Wyllie (1921-2012), Glasgow born artist and sculptor, working in regenerative, performance and public art. Includes sketches, travel diaries, notebooks, slides, photographs, reviews, press cuttings and scrapbooks relating to all of the artist’s projects and exhibitions.
William Baird & Company Ltd records
Records of William Baird & Company, iron and coal masters, at one time the largest makers of pig-iron in Scotland. Most of the records relate to the company’s Gartsherrie Works.

Browse all our archives collections in our online archives catalogue

Search our collections

For more advice on searching please see our search guide.

Subject guides

Explore our subject guides for links to resources on a specific subject