Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Contact us

Guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections at the University of Strathclyde

COVID-19 update

COVID-19 update, Access to Archives and Special Collections 26 July 2021 

Please note: Archives and Special Collections arrangements are being conducted in line with Government and University Covid-19 guidance and could be subject to change at short notice. 

The Archives and Special Collections reading room is open on an appointment-only basis.

To make an appointment, please e-mail us at least 1 week in advance of your proposed visit date at archives@strath.ac.uk including details of your enquiry. Our first step will be to see if we can help you remotely, for example by supplying digital copies. If that is not possible, we will consult the diary and book you in. Giving an early indication of all the documents you would like to see is important, as we cannot facilitate same-day productions.

Appointment hours will be 10.00-16.00.

A maximum of 3 researchers will have access to the reading room at a time.

Please note that appointments will be made subject to availability, and priority will be given to University of Strathclyde staff and students.

Researchers will be asked to complete an online registration form, and will be furnished with further information as to what to expect in advance of their visit to ensure the health and safety of all staff and visitors.

Contact information

Contact the reading room for help with enquiries, research or to book an appointment.Archives and Special Collections reading room entrance

Email

archives@strath.ac.uk

Phone

+44 (0)141 548 2497

Address

The Archives and Special Collections reading room is located on Level 5 of the Andersonian Library. Please address all enquiries to:

Archives and Special Collections
University of Strathclyde
Andersonian Library 
Curran Building
101 St James Road
Glasgow G4 0NS

Services

General Enquiry

If you have an enquiry about our resources and are unable to attend the reading room in person, please contact us by email, telephone or letter. There is no charge for our enquiry service, but we are unable to undertake lengthy research on your behalf. We aim to personally respond to your query, via the enquiry management system Fresh Service, within 5 working days.

Please give us as much information as possible, and tell us about any other sources you have already checked.

Book an appointment

Appointments should be made at least 1 working day in advance. You will be asked to complete a registration form. Please wait until you receive confirmation of your appointment before beginning your journey.

Before making an appointment please check our online catalogues or contact us to discuss your requirements. 

Request copies

We are able to provide photocopies or scanned images from our collections as long as the material is of a suitable condition and is not covered by restrictions.

Please note that all copies are provided on the understanding that they are for private study and research only. If you do wish to publish any images, please contact us to arrange permission.

Please see our copying services guide for further information.

Feedback, compliments or complaints

Archives and Special Collections are always happy to hear from our customers.

Please leave any feedback, compliments or complaints using the link below.

Using your personal information

We will process your personal information to provide you with access to our collections, to respond to your enquiries, to maintain the security and preservation of our archives and special collections and for statistical reporting. Please ask staff for further information.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home