Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Search guide

Guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections at the University of Strathclyde

Using the archive catalogue (AtoM)

Strathclyde's Archive Catalogue

How to carry out a basic search

  • Click on the link above to visit Strathclyde's Archive Catalogue
  • Type your search terms in the search box at the top of the screen
  • As you type you will be presented with some suggested searches, you can select one of these or continue to type and click on the magnifying glass or press enter.
  • You can also use double quotes or boolean operators to help refine your search.

 

Strathclyde's Archive Catalogue

How to carry out an advanced search

  • Click on the link above to visit Strathclyde's Archive Catalogue
  • Click in the search box at the top of the screen and then click on ‘advanced search’ below the search boxAdvanced search on archive catalogue
  • The advanced search form allows you to select a specific field to search or add new criteria as required.Advanced search form on archive catalogue
  • The search filters on the left allow you to narrow your search.Search filters on advanced search
  • Results appear below the search form allowing you to continue to refine your search using the form.

Strathclyde's Archive Catalogue

How to browse the collections

  • Click on the link above to visit Strathclyde's Archive Catalogue
  • Click on ‘browse’ at the top of the screen
  • Select  “Titles”, “Names”, “Subjects”, “Places” or “Images” to browse an alphabetical list of titles, names, subjects, places or images.Browse options on archive catalogue
  • Click on ‘sort by’ to change the order of the listBrowse sort by options menu
  • If you are browsing “Names” you have the further option to enter a query in the “Names” specific search box at the top of the page.Search names specific search box

Using the library catalogue (SUPrimo)

SUPrimo library catalogue

How to search for individual books in Archives and Special Collections

  • Click on the link above to visit SUPrimo - the library's integrated catalogue
  • Enter your search terms in the search box
  • Use the refine my results menu on the left of the results screen to limit results to 'special collections'
  • The list will now only show books titles from collections in the Archives and Special Collections
  • Select 'Get it' and note the location and reference number (if present)
  • Request the item from the reading room on level 5 of the library or email your request to archives@strath.ac.uk

How to search for collections in Archives and Special Collections

  • Click on the link above to visit SUPrimo - the library's integrated catalogue
  • Enter your search terms in the search box
  • Use the refine my results menu on the left of the results screen to limit results to 'archives'

  • The list will now only show descriptions of collections in the Archives and Special Collections
  • Either click on the title or 'view online catalogue' and 'open source in new window' to be forwarded to the archive catalogue where you can extend your search.

Search help

What information can I find using the archive catalogue?

The archive catalogue is a searchable database of descriptions of the archives held at the University of Strathclyde. It provides information about most of our archive collections, in many cases giving detailed information about individual items in the collections. It also gives summary information about our special collections.

What information can I find using the library catalogue?

The library catalogue is the University of Strathclyde Library's integrated search service. It searches across all of the library’s physical and electronic resources including Archives and Special Collections. It provides information about all our Special Collections books as well as summary information only about our archive collections. Links to the more detailed archive catalogue are provided where appropriate. Use the 'Restrict My Results' filter menu to restrict results to 'archives' or 'special collections'.

How do I access the material I've found in the archive or library catalogue?

Note the reference number for the items and visit the Archives and Special Collections reading room on level 5 of the Andersonian Library. If you are unable to visit, we may be able to provide copies.

I can't find what I'm looking for, can you help?

We are always happy to help you identify appropriate resources. Please contact us by email, telephone, letter or in person. There is no charge for this service.

Contact Archives and Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections's picture
Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
Archives and Special Collections
University of Strathclyde
Andersonian Library
Curran Building
101 St James Road
Glasgow G4 0NS
0141 548 2497
Website
Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home