Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reading Lists @ Strathclyde: 5. Add/Delete Citations

Add items from Library holdings

To add resources to your list click on the + button to open the search panel

citation add button

  • Search Library Collections for items in the Library Catalogue - includes books (electronic and print), journal titles (electronic and print), theses, media resources, University of Strathclyde Archives.

  • Search Journal Articles - from a selection of electronic databases

 

Search for resources and drag & drop the results into your reading list section.

Book example:

citation drag

 

Journal article example:

journal citation

How to Use My Collection

My Collection Page

My Collection is an area where you can store citations for future use. Select the menu box and click My Collection from the left sidebar .

From this page you can search for items using the plus button icon and add them to your personal list of resources.

 my collection result


My Collection tab

When working on a reading list you can easily drag and drop citations you have already saved to My Collection. From the reading list click the plus buttonto begin a search. Select the My collection tab and browse through the list of citations.

my collection tab  

 

Add item via Cite It

You can use the Cite It! to easily add items to your reading list, for example searching for books on Amazon, a newspaper article, a blog etc. 

Simply search for the resource you wish to add to your list and click the Cite It! button on your toolbar. See Getting Started with Reading Lists to install Cite It! if you haven't already done so. 

A pop up window will appear with details of the resource. You can choose to add it directly to a reading list section or to My Collection.

cite it pop up


Newspaper citation example:

newspaper article


Blog citation example:

Blog citation example

Remove item from a reading list

 To remove a citation for your reading list click the citation options button and select delete item.delete item

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home