LibGuides: Lexis+ UK Legal Research: How to use Lexis+ UK: Lexis+ UK Legislation

Log into Lexis+

Lexis+ UK Legal Research
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Lexis+ UK Legal Research Legislation Search

Lexis+ UK Legal Research includes in force Public General Acts and SIs which apply to England and Wales.

UK legislation applying only to Scotland is also covered, but some provisions of pre-devolution UK legislation which relate only to Scotland may not be included.

However, amended versions of in force public acts of the Scottish Parliament and SSIs are included.

After logging into Lexis+ you are at the home page. You can search for legislation here. However it is often more useful to use the ‘legislation’ search if specifically looking for an act or statutory instrument.

Below the search box under ‘Content’, select ‘Legislation’. You are now on the legislation search page. To see more search options, select ‘Advanced Search’.

Once you have retrieved results, you can use the links to various supplementary sources (e.g. Status Snapshot, Halsbury's Annotations) to check the status of legislation, including commencement, amendments and repeals, as well as other supplementary information about the legislation.

[Video] Finding Legislation
After we’ve looked at how to find legislation, you should:
Know the main sources where you can find legislation from Scotland and other parts of the UK.
Know how to use legal databases to find legislation by: title, year and chapter, asp, or statutory instrument number, and also by specific provision (for example a section) within the legislation.
Know how to find supplementary information about legislation– in particular how to check its status, including whether and when it came into force, whether it is still in force or whether it has been amended, which parts of the UK it a section extends to, and whether a section has been judicially considered.

How to find Legislation on Lexis+ UK Legal Research by title and provision number

e.g. Companies Act 2006 or Horse Passports Regulations 2009 (SI 2009/1611)

Searching

Below the search box under ‘Content’, select ‘Legislation’. You are now on the legislation search page. To see more search options, select ‘Advanced Search’.

Tip: Use connectors to link your terms. For help using connectors, follow the ‘Tips’ link.

Browsing

On the legislation search screen, select the ‘Acts’ or 'Statutory Instruments' links under the 'Content Type' heading . Then select the category (e.g. 'Scottish Parliament Acts' or 'UK Parliament Acts'. Then navigate through the alphabetical list of acts or SIs using +/-. Select an individual provision to view it.

[Video] Finding Legislation
After we’ve looked at how to find legislation, you should:
Know the main sources where you can find legislation from Scotland and other parts of the UK.
Know how to use legal databases to find legislation by: title, year and chapter, asp, or statutory instrument number, and also by specific provision (for example a section) within the legislation.
Know how to find supplementary information about legislation– in particular how to check its status, including whether and when it came into force, whether it is still in force or whether it has been amended, which parts of the UK it a section extends to, and whether a section has been judicially considered.

Search Results - Lexis+ UK Legal Research Legislation

The results list displays records matching your query. Use the 'Table of Contents' to navigate through the act and select individual provisions to view.

Checking the status of legislation on Lexis+ UK Legal Research

Commencement

NOTES

Information about commencement is given, where possible, under the ‘NOTES’ section in each provision record.

Supporting Materials

Under 'Supporting Materials' to the right of the text of a provision, you can follow links to:

'Halsbury's Annotations'; and
'Status Snapshot'

Each of these sources provides commencement information about provisions, where available.

Repeals or amendments

A Legislation search retrieves in force legislation incorporating repeals and amendments (if you leave the 'Current Version' box checked in your search).

Repeals and amendments are indicated by the text appearing in square brackets.

NOTES

Details of amending legislation are given, where possible, under ‘Notes’ within the provision record.

Halsbury's Statutes Citator

Under 'Supporting Materials' to the right of the text of a provision, you can follow the link to 'Halsbury's Statutes Citator' (or 'Halsbury's Annotations'_.

This source provides information about repeals and amendments, where available.

Cases citing

Supporting Materials - Cases

Under 'Supporting Materials' to the right of the text of a provision, you can follow a link to 'Cases' (if available). This source provides information about cases citing a provision, where available.