LibGuides: Lexis+ UK Legal Research: How to use Lexis+ UK: Lexis+ UK Cases

Log into Lexis+

Lexis+ UK Legal Research
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Lexis+ UK Cases Search

Lexis+ UK Legal Research – contains the full-text many law reports and official transcripts as well as ‘Case Overview’ analysis documents.

You can use the main search box onthe Home page to search for cases. However, for more search options you may prefer to use the main 'Cases' search screen.

Under 'Content' below the main search box, select ‘Cases’. This takes you to the ‘Cases’ search screen, where using the Advanced Search options you can search by 'Case name', 'Search terms' or 'Citation'. Advanced search options also include specifying 'Judgment date', 'Court' and 'Judges'.

Once you have retrieved results, you can use the Case Overview document for a case to check its status and find out whether it can still be considered good law or whether it has been overruled or reversed. The Case Overview document also provides you with other supplementary information about the case.

Lexis+ Cases search results

The search results list displays records matching your query.

Records include links individual reports and transcripts of a case as well as ‘Case Overview’ analysis documents.

Select the overview or citation links to view the available documents.

[Video] Finding case law
After we’ve looked at how to find case law, you should: Know the main sources where you can find case law from Scotland and other parts of the UK. Know how to use legal databases to find a case by: case name, citation, or by topic; and Know how to find supplementary information about a case – in particular how to check its status, including whether it has been overruled or reversed.

How to check the status of a case on Lexis+

[Video] Finding case law
After we’ve looked at how to find case law, you should: Know the main sources where you can find case law from Scotland and other parts of the UK. Know how to use legal databases to find a case by: case name, citation, or by topic; and Know how to find supplementary information about a case – in particular how to check its status, including whether it has been overruled or reversed.

How to check the status of a case on Lexis+

The 'Case Overview' document helps you check whether a case can still be relied on as good law.

Search for a case
In the search results, from the case record, select the ‘Case Overview’ link.
Look at the ‘Case history’ and ‘Cases referring to this case’ sections. These indicate whether the case has been overruled, reversed, affirmed or otherwise considered.

Tip: A red warning icon is also displayed in records for cases which are no longer authority.