LibGuides: Lexis+ UK Legal Research: How to use Lexis+ UK: Lexis+ UK Journals

Lexis+ UK Legal Research

For more information on using the new Lexis+ platform look at the following guides:

Lexis + Academic Upgrade Information
'LexisNexis has invested in new technologies to ensure our invaluable market-leading legal content is easy to access and can add more value to both faculty and students.'
Lexis+ UK Help pages
Include help on Lexis+ UK Legal Research and video tutorials.

You can view a demonstration of Lexis+ UK Legal Research:

[Video] Lexis+ UK Legal Research Introduction
This covers the main features of the legal database service Lexis+ UK Legal Research.
Recorded August 2023.
Captions automatically generated.

Log into Lexis+

Lexis+ UK Legal Research
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Lexis+ UK Journals search

The Lexis+ UK Legal Research 'Book & Journals' search provides access to many full-text articles from UK legal journals.

You can also search the 'Journals Summaries' to help locate articles in legal journals.

You can use the simple search box on the Home page to search for journal articles. However, for more search options you may prefer to use the main 'Books & Journals' search screen. On the Home page under 'Content' select ‘Books & Journals’, you can then further refine by selecting 'Journals' or 'Journal Summaries' under 'Content Type'. For further search options select 'Advanced Search'.

Searching for full text journal articles on Lexis+

‘Author’ e.g. Nicole Busby
‘Document Title / Journal Title’ e.g. Crumbs of Comfort: Pregnancy and the Status of 'Worker' under EU Law's Free Movement Provisions
‘Article Citation’ e.g. Ind Law J (2015) 44 (1): 134

To search using other terms, enter these in the ‘Terms’ boxes. (Use connectors to link your terms. For help using connectors, see guidance in the 'Use Connectors' box to the right of the search boxes.)

You can select or enter additional relevant information in other search fields.

Select the search button to display results.

Tip: You can specify other sections of a document to find search terms using the 'Advanced search' options.

Lexis+ Journals search results

The search results list displays records matching your query.

Documents may include abstracts as well as full- text articles.

Select the article title to view the document.