Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Online (Web): Using EndNote online (web) with Word

Help with using EndNote Online

Cite While You Write

When it comes to writing up your research, EndNote is really useful in helping you cite references properly in the body of your text, and creating a bibliography for you.

Open Word and you should see an EndNote tab on the ribbon at the top of the screen. The default on lab PCs is EndNote desktop.

EndNote online toolbar in Word

To switch from EndNote 20 (desktop) to EndNote online (above), choose Preferences then Application. Use the pull down menu to switch. In Word enter your email address and password for EndNote online and tick the box to remember your address and password. Select OK.

The Cite while You Write plug-in has already been installed in Library PCs that have the desktop version of EndNote.  To download it for your own PC, choose Format > Cite While You Write Plug-In. You can also find it under Downloads.

Inserting citations

From the EndNote tab in Word, choose Insert Citation > Find Citation. This opens up a dialogue box where you can search for a reference by author, title or keyword. Highlight the desired reference and click on Insert.

Insert citation in Word

Creating an bibliography in EndNote online

If you want to create a quick bibliography or you don't use Word, you can create a bilbiography from EndNote online.

From the Format menu tab, click on Bibliography.

Choose the options for your Bibliography.

Click Preview & Print to see the Bibliography.

It is very easy to change Bibliographic styles. You can select favourite styles using the Select Favorites link 

 

Amending and editing citations

To change the output style you can select an alternative from the drop down Style box in Word. The changes will be instant.

To edit citations you must use command options available in EN or Word - if you try to edit the body of the text in Word, the changes will not be permanently stored. Place your cursor in the reference to be amended then click on Edit Citation(s).

You can select to Exclude Year and/or Author, if you have already mentioned these in the body of your text.

You can add information in the Prefix or Suffix fields, for instance 'See' in the prefix or page numbers in the suffix fields.

Please note: do not use the Pages field for page numbers unless you know that your style (e.g. APA 7) uses this field. If you are unsure use the Suffix field and enter the page(s) as you would like it to appear in the citation, e,g, p.1.

Adding footnotes

It's possible to add a footnote to your document if you are using a numbered citation style. You need to use Word first:to insert the note.

  • Select the References tab in Word.
  • Click Insert Footnote or Insert Endnote.
  • Then follow the instructions to insert a citation.

Using EndNote online (web) with Word on your own PC

You can use EndNote oOline (web) from any computer with an Internet connection. 

Now you can also use EndNote online (web) to Cite While You Write in your own version of Microsoft Word by downloading the CWYW tool.

  • Login to EndNote Online (web)
  • Click on the Downloads tab
  • Click on Download Windows or Download Macintosh. Note that the Windows plug-in will work with Chrome and Edge as well as Internet Explorer.. See the installation instructions and system requirements links for details

When you have installed the Plug-In and have the EndNote Online (web) tab in Word you should find a range of referencing styles available to you via the drop-down styles menu. If the style you require is not listed click on Select Another Style to see the full list.

If you find that your styles drop-down menu is empty, or you would like a tailored list of styles, you can choose which style(s) you would like from within EndNote Online (web).

  • In EndNote Online (web) click on the Format tab > Bibliography
  • Click on Select Favorites 
  • Scroll through the list of styles, highlight and click Copy to Favorites to create your own list

You should now see these styles available to you in your own version of Word.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home