Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Online (Web): Troubleshooting

Help with using EndNote Online

Logging in to EndNote online

I can't login to EndNote online

Have you created an account?

  • Your institutional login (DS account) won't work with EndNote online. You need to create an account using your Strathclyde email address and a password.

Does the login box reappear?

  • Try refresh on your browser as you may have been logged in anyway.

EndNote online and Word

The EndNote online account login box keeps appearing when I try to use EndNote online with Word

Do you have a % or $ symbol in your EndNote online password?

  • Change your password to a password that doesn't contain these symbols. Login to your EndNote online account. Choose Options then Password.

Have you logged in to your Endnote online account?

  • Login to your EndNote online account before you open Word

Which browser are you using to login to your EndNote online account?

  • Try logging in to your EndNote online account using your default browser.

I see a 'Cannot edit range' error message in Word when I try to insert a citation.

Do you also use Mendeley?

  • Turn off the Add-in for Mendeley. Word -> File menu -> Options -> Add-Ins -> scroll to the foot of the page and choose Word Add-Ins from the Manage drop-down menu. Uncheck the box next to Mendeley.
  • If temporarily disabling the add-in doesn't work, then you will need to uninstall the Word plug-in from Mendeley. In Mendeley, go to Tools -> Uninstall MS Word plug-in.

I see a 'class not registered' message when using Harvard Strathclyde style with Cite While You Write in Word.

  • Try switching between EndNote desktop and EndNote online in Word. Choose Preferences -> Application then EndNote online and OK. If you don't have EndNote desktop, follow these steps as if you were going to witch and click on the OK button to connect between Word and EndNote online. 

The EndNote tab doesn't appear in Word 2016

Have you downloaded the Cite While You Write plugin?

  • If you have downloaded the plugin, see if the Ribbon tab is also unchecked. Click on the File menu and select Options. Click on Customize Ribbon and Check EndNote if it is unchecked. Click OK to display the EndNote tab in the Word Ribbon.
  • If this doesn't work, enable EndNote tools in COM Add-Ins: 
  •  Word 2010/2013/2016: Click on the File ribbon and select "Options."
  •  Open Word and click on the File ribbon and select "Options." 
  •  Click on "Add-ins." 
  •  At the bottom of the page, next to "Manage:" set the Drop down to "COM Add-ins" 
  •  Click Go. 
  •  Select EndNote Cite While You Write (If it is unchecked). 
  •  Click OK. 

List of styles in Word

I can't see the Harvard Strathclyde style/ I can only see a short list of styles in Word

Have you selected favourite styles in EndNote online?

  • Login to EndNote online
  • Choose Format -> Bibliography
  • Click on Select Favorites and either add the style you want or clear your favourites (Remove from Favorites) to see all styles.

Did you register off-campus/ some time ago?

  • Login through Web of Science to tie up your account details to the University of Strathclyde.
  • Go to SUPrimo and search for Web of Science. Login with your DS username and password. Go to Products at the top right of the screen and choose Login to your EndNote account. Go back in to Word and you should now see the full list of styles. You may need to restart your computer.
  • You need to login through this route at least once a year. You can see when you need to do this by going to your EndNote online account and choosing Options then Subscription. Check the Web of Science account expiration date.

Reference list and citations in Word

There is incorrect/missing information in my reference list

Is the infomation in your EndNote online library?

  • EndNote online willl create the reference in Word from the information in EndNote online. If the information is missing (e.g. author's name) or is in the incorrect field, then the reference will be incorrect in Word.
  • Always check references that you capture from databases or websites to make sure that the correct information goes into your EndNote library. 
  • In some cases it might be easier to enter a reference manually than to try and find it on a database and then change it.

Which style are you using?

  • It may be that the style you have chosen doesn't use information in a particular field (e.g. URL). Try a different style.

I need to insert the citation without the Author's name

  • You can insert citations and exclude the Author or the Year. It depends on how you have introduced the citation. If you have written, for example, 'Brown says' then you'd want to Insert & Exclude Author.

Insert and exclude in Word

Creating a Bibliography

I need to create a bibliography as well as a reference list.

A bibliography is a list of everything you have read when preparing your paper. A reference list is everything you have cited in your paper.

  • You can generate a bibliography from EndNote online.
  • Choose Format -> Bibliography. Choose the folder with the references you need from the drop down menu. Choose the Bibliographic Style then the File Format (RTF). You can save or preview the file. Copy and paste the information into your Word document.

Format Bibliography

EndNote online and EndNote desktop synching

Setting up an EndNote online (web) account allows you to synchronise your desktop library with your online library and take it with you wherever you have an Internet connection. However, you can only synchronise ONE EndNote Desktop library with ONE EndNote online library.

If you have several EndNote libraries we recommend merging them into one master library and using the Groups feature to organise your references. 

The synching takes place in EndNote desktop. 

Duplicates?

If you find that your references and groups have been duplicated after syncing you can deduplicate as follows:

  • In EndNote online (web) go to the Organize tab
  • Click on Find Duplicates
  • Delete as appropriate
  • Empty your Trash folder
  • Go back to EndNote and click on the Sync icon again
Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home