Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Online (Web): Collecting References

Help with using EndNote Online

Components of a reference

Regardless of the style you choose to use, references  will generally require a selection of the following components:

Author(s) / Editor(s)

Title (book/chapter/journal/article)

Edition

Place of publication

Publisher

Year of publication

Volume number, issue number/month

 Page(s)

Electronic and specialist materials may have additional referencing components e.g. the URL and date accessed for websites.

Exporting references from databases - direct export plug-in

The EndNote Online direct export plug-in makes it easy to export references directly into your EndNote library from databases. The plug-in will be installed on centrally managed PC labs and should be part of the EndNote desktop default installation.

If needed, you can download it from EndNote Online ->Downloads. The Internet Explorer plug-in will work with Google Chrome. and Edge.  You need to choose to open files rather than save.

Instructions may vary from database to database but generally you will:

  • Carry out a search
  • Mark some records by checking the boxes next to your results or adding them to a marked list
  • Choose to Export or Send to:
  • Choose RIS if you need to specify an export format
  • Open the file and you can then choose the destination for your references: EndNote (desktop) or EndNote Online

Choose Destination box

Importing references

If your resutls cannot be directly exported into EndNote online, you can save your results as a .ris file and import the file into your EndNote library.

  • At the results page of your database search, select the article(s) you want to export and Save them as a file to your H: drive
  • Open your EndNote library and click on Collect > Import References
  • Click on Browse and find your .ris file
  • Choose the RefMan RIS Import Option or one for a specific database if listed. You might want to add RefMan RIS  to your Favourites (Select Favorites)
  • Choose the group you want to put the file in or create a new group.
  • Click on Import

Manually adding references

References can be added to EndNote online in various ways.

Using the Collect tab you can manually enter reference details by clicking on New Reference.

New Reference

Try adding this Journal Article reference (note, each author’s name must be added on a new line):

Spring, H and Adams, R. (2013) 'Learning and Teaching in Action'. Health Information and Libraries Journal 30 (4), pp.337-342.

Exporting references from databases - direct export

Some databases have an EndNote button (e.g. Web of Science)  or direct export option (e.g. EBSCOhost databases) that allows you to directly export references to your EndNote library. 

For example, if using Web of Science: Web of Science logo

  • Search the database as normal
  • Mark the records you wish to exportWeb of Science Save to EndNote online
  • Use the drop-down menu to Save to EndNote online 
  • EndNote online will store imported references in a folder named [Unfiled], but they will also appear under All My References

Exporting references from SUPrimo (Library search)

References can be pushed directly from SUPrimo into EndNote Online.

  • Search the Full Library, Library collections or Articles and papers for relevant references, and add them to your favourites (click on the SUPrimo heart icon heart icon).
  • Go to your favourites by clicking on the heart icon  at the top right of the screen. Select the items you wish to send to EndNote online. Click on the dots SUPrimo actions and then choose EndNote Online. These items will now appear in your [Unfiled] EndNote Online folder.

Exporting references from GoogleScholar

  • Go to GoogleScholar https://scholar.google.co.uk/
  • Carry out a search.
  • From your list of results, select the Google Scholar Cite link Cite link and then RefMan (the EndNote link is for the desktop version).
  • Choose the Destination EndNote Online.

Capturing references using the Bookmarklet Tool

The EndNote Bookmarklet Tool (Capture Reference) scans the bibliographic information presented on a webpage and creates a reference which you can save in either EndNote online or EndNote desktop. This is a particularly useful tool for those journal sites or webpages which do not offer a direct export option on screen.

Capture Reference

The Capture Reference bookmarklet can be found on EndNote online under Downloads.

Note: Multiple authors will be listed on one line - after you've imported your captured reference(s) you'll need to edit the author field and ensure each name is on a separate line and displays correctly (either first name last name OR last name, first name). Also, ensure the Reference Type has been picked up correctly - you can change this before you import or afterwards.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home