It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westlaw: How to use Westlaw: Westlaw International Materials
How to access the Westlaw database service and use it to find: case law, legislation, journal articles and more. This also includes information about how to access international materials on Westlaw.
Westlaw’s International Materials (Thomson Reuters Westlaw) contains a wide range of sources not available from the Westlaw UK welcome screen. The majority of non-UK sources are from the United States but material is available from other jurisdictions. Content includes:
United States: Federal and State legislation and case law, journals/law reviews, and other secondary materials.
Canada: Federal and Provincial legislation and case law, journals/law reviews, and other secondary materials.
Australia: Federal and State/Territory case law, journals, and other secondary materials.
International Law: Content includes case law from the International Court of Justice and International Criminal Tribunals and materials from organisations including WTO / GATT, WIPO, UNICIRAL, and NAFTA.
Access to Westlaw International Materials
To access material from non-UK jurisdictions on the 'Westlaw Edge UK' homepage under 'More Resources' select either:
Westlaw International (for materials from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, and other jurisdictions); or
Westlaw US (for materials relating to federal and state jurisdictions)
The service opens in a new window / tab.
Browsing for a source in Westlaw International Materials
The Westlaw International welcome page displays sources grouped by jurisdiction (Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, etc.) or content type (Cases, Legislation, Journals, etc.). To browse through these and select a source to search, select the appropriate heading and sub-headings until you find the source you wish to search.
To access US material, select the main ‘Thomson Reuters Westlaw’ link in the upper left of the screen.
Example: Searching for an article in a US legal periodical
To search for an article in a US legal periodical:
Select ‘U.S. Materials’, link in the right of the screen.
Select ‘Secondary Sources’ (in the 'All Content' tab).
Under the ‘By Type’ heading, select ‘Law Reviews & Journals’.
To search across all US journals on Westlaw enter terms in the search box at the top of the screen. Select the search (orange ‘magnifying glass') button to display results.
To search in a specific US journal, select appropriate filters in the left of the screen (e.g. ‘National’, ‘Federal’ or specific state or topic), then select the title (e.g. ‘Journal of Law and Technology’). This will take you to the search screen where you can search as above.
N.B. In full-text databases be specific in your choice of search terms, use proximity or field operators rather than AND connectors.
Log into Westlaw UK
WestlawWestlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to 'Westlaw International' from the homepage.
When accessing the new Westlaw UK platform for the first time you will additionally be required to provide name and email. Please enter your University of Strathclyde email address. Thomson Reuter’s privacy statement is available via a link at the bottom of this 'Add personal information' page.