How to access the Westlaw database service and use it to find: case law, legislation, journal articles and more. This also includes information about how to access international materials on Westlaw.
Recorded August 2023.
An introduction to the legal database Westlaw UK. This covers accessing: Westlaw; the home page and general search; searching for cases; searching for legislation; searching for journal articles; terms and connectors; Westlaw Books; the Index of legal terms; Westlaw International; and further help.
Westlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to 'Westlaw International' from the homepage.
Users should sign in to Westlaw using University credentials, however first-time users must also register on the Westlaw site. Please follow our Westlaw Registration Instructions. Users who have not accessed the service in over 15 months will need to re-register.
You must use your University of Strathclyde email address during registration. You can access Thomson Reuter’s ‘Privacy Policy and Cookies’ information at any point using the link on the site.
Westlaw and Practical Law (Thomson Reuters) Training Webinars and Certification
Thomson Reuters are running a programme of webinars covering Westlaw UK, Westlaw International, and Practical Law.
Follow links on this page to book on available courses.
On Thomson Reuters Westlaw Edge™, you can search for documents by either typing a Boolean Terms and
Connectors query or typing a plain language query in the search bar at the top of any page. Westlaw Edge recognizes whichever search format you use.
This link opens in a new window