These databases provide access to primary sources (legislation and case law) and secondary sources including books, journal articles, and other commentary.
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Westlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to ‘Westlaw International’ from the homepage.
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Practical Law is an online legal ‘know how’ service. It provides resources, such as practice notes, current awareness and standard documents to help with legal practice and providing legal advice.
Resources are created and kept up to date by a team of editors who have experience gained in law firms, companies and public sector organisations.
It is integrated with resources on the Westlaw UK service.
HeinOnline is a legal research database. The University’s subscription includes access to the ‘Law Journal Library’, ‘Scottish Legal History’, ‘English Reports, Full Reprint’, and US state databases. All content within HeinOnline is image-based in PDF format and fully searchable.
Bloomsbury Professional Online provides access to legal commentary and analysis from Bloomsbury's books, looseleafs, and other legal materials. The University has access to titles available as part of the Scottish Law Student Service.
A wide range of eBooks on the Elgar Online platform. Strathclyde has access to the 2016-2025 Law Collections; 2017-2025 Social and Political Science Collections; 2011-2025 Economics Collections; 2017-2025 Business Collections. Strathclyde also has access to a large number of older titles across these subject areas, several encyclopedias, and a range of eBooks related to Environment, Sustainability, SDGs and Climate Change topics. Please note that we do not have access to all eBooks on the Elgar Online site. SUPrimo contains records for the titles Strathclyde users can access.
A wide range of Oxford Handbook titles.
Each Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives.
Strathclyde has access to:
We also have access to small numbers of Handbooks from other subject areas. Please note that we do not have access to all Handbooks on the site. SUPrimo contains records for the titles Strathclyde users can access.
Public Information Online is a searchable database providing access to official publications from UK legislative bodies and governments. It includes full-text documents from the UK Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Scottish Government, Northern Ireland Assembly, Welsh Senedd, and selected non-parliamentary sources.
UK Parliament documents, include:
• House of Commons and House of Lords Papers (from 2006/07 and 1901 respectively).
• Public Bills, Explanatory Notes, Command Papers, Acts, and Statutory Instruments.
• Hansard (from 1803 for Commons and 1909 for Lords).
• Committee reports, financial statements, and other parliamentary proceedings.
Scottish Parliament coverage starts from Session 3 (May 2007) onwards and includes legislative and procedural documents such as:
• Bills (public and private), Explanatory Notes, Policy Memorandums, and Financial Memorandums.
• Official Reports (debates), Minutes of Proceedings, Written Answers, and Committee Reports.
• Business Bulletins and Marshalled Lists of amendments.
• Full texts of Acts and accompanying explanatory materials.
Scottish Government publications, available from 2009 onwards include:
• Annual reports, consultations, and research findings.
• Documents spanning diverse policy areas such as education, health, environment, justice, and economics.
Useful for: All disciplines - especially Education, Government & Public Policy, Law, Politics, Social Work & Social Policy.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (formerly House of Commons Parliamentary Papers) contains Sessional Papers (e.g. House of Commons Papers, Command Papers and Public Bills) from 1715 to the 2009/10 parliamentary session. UKPP also provides access to supplementary parliamentary material back to 1688 including material from the House of Lords. Full-text of papers from session 2010-11 onwards is available via the Public Information Online service.
Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences from 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Coverage is from 1898 to date.
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Legal Research Skills for Scots Lawyers, 4th edn
by
Effective Legal Research, 4th edn
by
Legal research : a practitioner's handbook, 3rd edn
by
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme where each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name. e.g. D 348.05 GOR
