Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences from 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Coverage is from 1898 to date.

Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.

Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.

Westlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to ‘Westlaw International’ from the homepage.

Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.

HeinOnline is a legal research database. The University’s subscription includes access to the ‘Law Journal Library’, ‘Scottish Legal History’ and ‘English Reports, Full Reprint’ databases. All content within HeinOnline is image-based in PDF format and fully searchable.

ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

This database is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database. More than 383,000 records are included, with over 10,000 new records added each year.

An index to the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines.

Global Think Tanks is a collection of fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs (intergovernmental organisations), and NGOs (non-governmental organisations). 
It provides in-depth search and access to millions of reports from thousands of organisations. Global Think Tanks covers many disciplines — agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, and much more. This includes access to millions pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organisations. Content is vetted by the organisations that produce it, and it is curated by editors at Policy Commons. 

IBSS is an index to journal articles and books in the social sciences. It covers the period 1951 to present. It covers a wide range of social sciences literature and it is particularly strong in anthropology, economics, politics and sociology. 

Useful for: Economics, Education, Government and Public Policy and Social Policy.

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Law Journal Library on the HeinOnline platform is a collection of articles published in law reviews and other legal periodicals.

Legislation.gov.uk contains the official revised version of UK primary legislation including all in-force Public General Acts of the (now) UK Parliament, Acts of the pre-1707 Scottish Parliament and Acts of the devolved Scottish Parliament. At present there is a delay in revising legislation, but that which is awaiting revision should be noted as such. The service also provides access to unrevised versions of some SIs and SSIs and post-1991 UK Local Acts.

Nexis provides full-text coverage of newspapers worldwide, plus press releases, transcripts of TV broadcasts, newswires, magazines and trade journals.

Public Information Online contains publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, National Assembly for Wales, Scottish Government and also Non-Parliamentary material.
It provides access to Bills, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Scottish Parliament Papers, the SP Official Report and Scottish Government Papers. 
Dates of coverage: UK Parliament (2006/07 Session onwards); Scottish Parliament (Session 3 onwards). Hansard is available from 2008/09 onwards. Earlier content is being added. 
Useful for: All disciplines - especially Education, Government & Public Policy, Law, Politics, Social Work & Social Policy.

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.

Full text of Scottish Government publications from 1997 onwards.

Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.

Access to data from the ESDS (Economic and Social Data Service) and Census data for 1971-2021. Includes data from International Energy Agency, World Bank, OECD, United Nations, Human Rights Atlas, International Monetary Fund.

UK Parliamentary Papers (formerly House of Commons Parliamentary Papers) contains Sessional Papers (e.g. House of Commons Papers, Command Papers and Public Bills) from 1715 to the 2009/10 parliamentary session. UKPP also provides access to supplementary parliamentary material back to 1688 including material from the House of Lords. Full-text of papers from session 2010-11 onwards is available via the Public Information Online service.