It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law: Web resources (legal)
Guide to finding and using information supporting learning and research in Law.
In your research you may want to use some useful publicly accessible websites (which do not require a username and password). Some websites are more reliable than others having been written or edited by specialists in the subject area.
Gateways and portals
Some sites act as ‘gateways’ listing other useful websites covering social work and related subjects.
You should always evaluate sources you use in your research. This is particularly important in the case of publicly accessible websites where it may not be immediately clear who has created the information or what their authority is.
information about civil and criminal courts in Scotland, including the Court of Session, the High Court of Justiciary, the Sheriff Courts, the District Courts and a number of other courts, commissions and tribunals. Includes selected judgments from the Court of Session and High Court of Justiciary and Sheriff Courts beginning in 1998.
the final court of appeal for Scottish civil cases and for determining 'devolution issues' under the Scotland Act 1998. The UK Supreme Court is also final court of appeal for both civil and criminal cases from England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Includes a link to decided cases.
Until July 2009, the final court of appeal for Scottish civil cases and final court of appeal for both civil and criminal cases from England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Includes all judgments from 14th November 1996 to 30th July 2009.
HM Courts & Tribunals Service is responsible for the administration of criminal, civil and family courts and tribunals in England and Wales.
It is also responsible for non-devolved tribunals in Scotland and Northern Ireland.
BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute) covers publicly available legal information from the UK and the Republic of Ireland.
It provides coverage of British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
Dates of coverage: 13th century onwards (substantial coverage begins in the late 1990s/2000s).
Subject coverage includes: law.
Open access/freely available content. No login required.
This gateway provides access to legal websites offering primary and secondary legal materials. Subject specialists select and evaluate the resources included.
The search screen allows you to enter search terms and then filter by: resource type, country and province or state. Alternatively, you can follow the ‘Browse Eagle-i’ link to browse resources by jurisdiction, subject, or international law topic.