It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law: Legal Dictionaries
Guide to finding and using information supporting learning and research in Law.
Westlaw UK's Index of Legal Terms contains the three most comprehensive and authoritative legal dictionaries; Stroud's Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases, Jowitt's Dictionary of English Law and Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary as well as the Statutory definitions that form part of Westlaw UK Legislation documents. All content is interlinked and cross-referenced.
Words and Phrases Legally Defined is an anthology of selected judicial and statutory definitions gathered under relevant subject headings in alphabetical order. It covers material from the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. The definitions comprise extracts from judgments and explanatory editorial notes and, where relevant, contain cross-references to Halsbury's Laws of England.
It offers speedy access to a mass of technical terms and phrases in both English and European law, and extensive legal referencing takes all entries beyond definitions and basic context to provide a solid basis for further research.
The ability to define words and phrases precisely is critical for any lawyer. Stroud’s Judicial Dictionary allows the practitioner to have quick access to the exact, authoritative meaning of terms.
• Provides the judicial definitions of terms or words established in decided cases or statutes
• An authoritative guide to the present construction of words and phrases occurring in legislation, decided cases and other legal documents
• Sets out, where applicable, the evolution of a term’s meaning
Provides a concise, but comprehensive and authoritative definition of every expression that forms part of the law of England and Wales
Incorporates extensive additions and amendments to ensure it is absolutely up-to-date with current law
Covers European terms in so far as they form part of the law of England and Wales
Other legal dictionaries
You can search for other legal dictionaries using SUPrimo:
SUPrimoSUPrimo is the University of Strathclyde Library's integrated search service.
Use SUPrimo to search our print and electronic library collections, including: books - journal titles - databases - electronic resources - theses - exam papers - media resources - course material.