This guide is for students in Years 3 and 4 of the BA Education and Social Services.
There is a separate guide for college students on the programme:
Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
The Social Science Premium Collection is comprised of collections and individual databases. You can search the complete collection or the individual collections or databases. The collections and databases include:
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Education database provides full text access to a wide range of journal articles in the field of education covering: adult, primary, secondary, higher, special needs and teacher education. As well as journal articles this database indexes dissertations, reports and working papers. Most of the content is from 1980 to present.
Social Policy and Practice (SPP) is a bibliographic database for those working or studying in the health and social care sectors - bringing together information from five leading UK collections of health and social care resources: AgeInfo - Centre for Policy on Ageing; NSPCC - National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children; Planex - IDOX Information Service; Social Care Online - Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE); ChildData – National Children’s Bureau (NCB).
Social Policy and Practice contains over 400,000 bibliographic records and abstracts dating from 1981, with over 24,000 new records added every year. (N.B. Data in Social Care Online is no longer updated. The data was last updated in early 2023.)
Please note that this resource permits access for 12 simultaneous users.
CareKnowledge.com provides up to date information about policy and research developments in social care and social work. This includes access to CareKnowledge Bookshelf.
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from from 1966 to present. It can be cross-searched with the British Education Index.
You can use BrowZine to find journals in your subject area. Please note that BrowZine does not list all of Strathclyde's journals, but it is a useful way to identify key journals within a subject field.
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.
Social research : issues, methods and process by 
Doing Your Research Project: a guide for first-time researchers 7th edn by Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme where each subject is represented by a number.
You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
e.g. D 361.32 KOP
Here are some useful Social Work and Social Policy shelf numbers:
