It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will help you to find and use Library resources for your assignments, dissertations, theses and other research. Please contact me if you would like further help or information
APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.
APA PsycArticles provides full-text access to almost 80 journals published by American Psychological Association and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. It covers the period 1894 to present. Searching APA PsycInfo will automatically search the contents of APA PsycArticles.
APA PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 38,000 chapters in PDF format from over 2,500 books published by APA and other publishers. It also includes over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s and access to more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. It can be cross-searched with APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles.
Links to individual ebooks in APA PsycBooks can also be found via SUPrimo.
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from from 1966 to present. It can be cross-searched with the British Education Index.
Use your University DS login.
Related databases for Health and Clinical Psychology
Previously known as PILOTS, the PTSDpubs database indexes literature relating to post-traumatic stress disorder and related mental health conditions. It covers assessment, prevention and treatment of these conditions as well as literature relating to public policy and traumatised populations.
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). This version of the Cochrane Library is brought to you by Wiley Interscience.
This resource is publicly accessible to users within the UK and many other countries (full details at https://www.cochranelibrary.com/help/access ). Users in these countries may access Cochrane Library without any requirement to log in. Strathclyde members based in other countries can access the resource by selecting Sign In > Institutional Login > searching for University of Strathclyde in the login via Shibboleth option > and entering their University DS username and password.
MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts from 1946 onwards, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; sports medicine; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
CINAHL is an index to journals in the allied health and nursing subject areas. As well as indexing over 3000 journals, full text access is provided to over 600 journals. This is a useful database for those studying or researching: Speech and Language Therapy, Sport and Physical Activity, Health Psychology, Digital Health, Pharmacy, Prosthetics and Orthotics and Pharmacology.
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
Useful Psychology and related subjects shelfmarks:
D 150 General psychology
D 151 Intelligence
D 152 Sensory perception
D 153 Cognitive psychology
D 154 Learning and behaviour
D 155 Developmental psychology
D 156 Comparative psychology
D 158 Applied psychology
D 302 Social psychology
D 616.89 Clinical psychology
About this LibGuide
This guide will help you discover and use Library resources to help with your assignments, dissertations, projects and research.
Your DS password will be required to access some eresources on campus and all eresources off campus.
Please contact me if you need any help or advice in using the resources.