It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work & Social Policy: Social Policy
This guide will help you discover and use Library resources supporting learning and research in the School of Social Work and Social Policy.
Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
ProQuest's Sociology Collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.
Databases included: Applied Social Dciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, Sociology Database.
Subject coverage includes: mental health services, sociology, social care, social policy, social services, and social work.
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences from 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Coverage is from 1898 to date.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. This includes coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 255 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
"ProQuest Social Science Journals provides indexing for over 450 journals. Mostly full text access is provided.##Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more."
ProQuest's Politics Collection provides access to databases such as PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
This collection includes: PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Subject coverage includes: politics, government, international relations, public policy and electoral systems.
PAIS covers issues in the public debate.
It provides selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Dates of coverage: 1972 to present (PAIS International) 1915 – 1976 (PAIS Archive).
Subject coverage includes: economic conditions; education; energy resources and policy; government; health conditions; human rights; international relations; labour conditions and policy; politics; and social conditions.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 410 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of 385 core titles, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. New to ProQuest Political Science are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, as well as thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.
All databases related to the subject Social Policy - derived from the A-Z list.
Browsing Social Science Journals
You can use BrowZine to find journals in your subject area. Please note that BrowZine does not list all of Strathclyde's journals, but it is a useful way to identify key journals within a subject field.
Research can be daunting, particularly for first-timers, but this book provides everything you need to know to prepare for, research, draft and finalise a methodologically sound and well-written report or thesis, plus it warns you of potential pitfalls to prevent you wasting time on false trails.
The book is divided into two parts, with part one examining the issues and perspectives in social research and part two setting out the methods and processes.
Useful shelf numbers
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.
You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
e.g. D 361.32 KOP
Here are some useful Social Work and Social Policy shelfmarks: