LibGuides: Social Work & Social Policy (including Criminology): Education and Social Services

Key Databases - Education & Social Services

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is a companion file to Sociological Abstracts and is contained within Sociological Abstracts. It provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education database provides full text access to a wide range of journal articles in the field of education covering: adult, primary, secondary, higher, special needs and teacher education. As well as journal articles this database indexes dissertations, reports and working papers. Most of the content is from 1980 to present.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Australian Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Australian Education Index provides access to documents relating to educational trends, research, policy and practice. Covers the period 1977 to present.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from from 1966 to present. It can be cross-searched with the British Education Index.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Social Care Online (SCIE) This link opens in a new window
Social Care Online is a product of the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) and is the UK's most extensive free database of social care information with everything from research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites.
Social Care Online is free to use, however access to various features on the database requires individuals to register and log-in. To do this, follow the instructions on the site. Please note that not all content on Social Care Online is freely available and full text access to certain content will be available only if the library has access via another route.
CareKnowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CareKnowledge.com provides up to date information about policy and research developments in social care and social work.
This includes access to CareKnowledge Bookshelf.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Childlink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Childlink covers legislation, policies and practices regarding children, young people and families in the UK and Ireland. It includes information on education, welfare, lifestyle, justice, benefit issues, youth affairs, health and employment.
Off campus? Use your University DS login. Choose Login via your home institution link or The UK Access Management Federation button then University of Strathclyde. Access restrictions apply.
NSCPH This link opens in a new window
The aim of the NSCPH is to enhance and share child protection knowledge by providing access to: Local, national and international research in the field of child protection; RoI, NI and UK national policy documents and guidance; Reports of child protection inspections and inquiries and executive summaries of serious case reviews; Coverage of child protection news, events and more.
Off campus? Use your University DS login. Choose Login via your home institution link or The UK Access Management Federation button then University of Strathclyde. Access restrictions apply.

Additional databases - Education & Social Services

Additional databases - Education & Social Services
All databases related to the subject Education & Social Services - derived from the A-Z list.
NHS Scotland Knowledge Network
E-library resources as delivered by NHS Scotland - affiliated staff and students can register for an ATHENS password (top right of the page, select the registration link for Other Partners when relevant) to gain access to electronic books and journals, or to participate in any of the subject-specialist communities.

Research Skills

Social research : issues, methods and process by Tim May
Call Number: D 300.72 MAY
ISBN: 9780335262106
Publication Date: 2022
The book is divided into two parts, with part one examining the issues and perspectives in social research and part two setting out the methods and processes.
Doing Your Research Project: a guide for first-time researchers 7th edn by Judith Bell; Stephen Waters
Call Number: D 370.72 BEL
ISBN: 9780335243396
Publication Date: 2018
Research can be daunting, particularly for first-timers, but this book provides everything you need to know to prepare for, research, draft and finalise a methodologically sound and well-written report or thesis, plus it warns you of potential pitfalls to prevent you wasting time on false trails.

Useful shelf numbers

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

e.g. D 361.32 KOP

Here are some useful Social Work and Social Policy shelfmarks:

D 300 Social sciences (General)

D 361.3 Social work

D 361.61 Social policy

D 362 Social welfare problems & services

D 364 Criminology

D 909 Human geography

Related guides

Education
by Sarah Kevill Last Updated Jan 31, 2023 565 views this year
Government & Public Policy
by Gareth Ryan Last Updated Feb 14, 2023 60 views this year
Health & Health Promotion
by Sarah Kevill Last Updated Jan 31, 2023 27 views this year
Law
by Gareth Ryan Last Updated Mar 22, 2023 1999 views this year
Psychology
by Sarah Kevill Last Updated Jan 31, 2023 514 views this year

Faculty Librarian

Gareth Ryan

Email Me

Subjects: Centre for Lifelong Learning, Criminology, Education & Social Services, Government & Public Policy, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Politics and International Relations, Social Policy, Social Work, Social Work & Social Policy