It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Home
This guide will help you find and use Library resources for your assignments, dissertations, theses and other research. Please contact me if you would like further help or information.
Compendex database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Subject coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Part of Materials Science & Engineering Database, this database provides indexing and abstracts to records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports in the fields of mechanical and transportation engineering.
Dates of coverage: 1966 - current.
Subject coverage includes: automotive engineering, naval and marine engineering, aerospace engineering, industrial and manufacturing engineering.
The ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database features wide coverage of research in subjects such as computer and information systems, electronics, telecommunications, military technology, solid state and superconductivity, lasers and many other areas. Sources covered include not just within academic journals but in the grey literature including patents, conference proceedings, government reports and more to provide the widest awareness and discovery of developments in the field.
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Use your University DS login.
Searching for literature and understanding how that interlinks with writing up your findings and influencing new ideas for your research is a vital skill. The graphic below may help you to understand these processes and how they are inter-linked.
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.
You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
Here are some useful shelfmarks.
D 333.7 Renewable energy
D 532 Fluid mechanics
D 621 Mechanical engineering (general)
D 621.8 Machine engineering
D 629.1 Aerospace engineering
D 629.4 Astronautics
D 629.892 Robotics
Using the Library
A few links for useful information on our servcies are: