LibGuides: Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering: Home

Key databases: Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering

Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering
The Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering (EMOE) is a major reference work covering the design, construction and operation of ships, offshore installations and other marine structures used for transportation, exploration and the exploitation of ocean-based resources including oil, gas and renewable energy. It embraces all of the disciplines of engineering and naval architecture that are found in the complementary marine and offshore industries.

Compendex [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Subject coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Marine Digimap
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Digimap is an online map and data delivery service, offering a number of data collections. Marine Digimap contains two types of data:
- raster nautical charts derived from UK Hydrographic Office paper charts and chart panels;
- Marine Themes vector data covering all UK waters, derived from authoritative material obtained from the UK Hydrographic Offices as well as comprehensive source data where available.
Please note - downloading data for use in GIS or CAD applications requires specialised software which is NOT available on PCs in the Library.
Users should sign in to this resource using University email address and password. First time users (and users who have not accessed Digimap in over 12 months) will also be prompted to register an account. All users must agree to the end user licence for the relevant Digimap Collection(s) they wish to access.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. Users are not required to create a separate password for this resource.
Digimap’s Privacy Notice can be viewed via a link in the registration form.
OnePetro
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A library of technical documents and journal articles for the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
DNV Rules and Standards Explorer+
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Provides full text access to all DNV rules and standards. DNV are the world’s leading classification society and a recognized advisor for the maritime industry including renewables, oil and gas, and energy management. They are one of the world’s leading certification bodies.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account to access this resource. Please complete the DNV Rules and Standards Explorer+ service request form to register an account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Veracity's Privacy Statement and Terms of Use can be viewed via links in the instructions.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Materials Science & Engineering Database, this database provides indexing and abstracts to records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports in the fields of mechanical and transportation engineering.
Dates of coverage: 1966 - current.
Subject coverage includes: automotive engineering, naval and marine engineering, aerospace engineering, industrial and manufacturing engineering.
Oceanic Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is totally comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection features wide coverage of research in subjects such as computer and information systems, electronics, telecommunications, military technology, solid state and superconductivity, lasers and many other areas. Sources covered include not just within academic journals but in the grey literature including patents, conference proceedings, government reports and more to provide the widest awareness and discovery of developments in the field.
Construction Information Service
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
The Construction Information Service Online (CIS Online) provides electronic access to technical information including an index to a selection of standards, regulatory and advisory documents, guidance and other material for the UK construction industry. The online service provides bibliographic data such as document titles and summaries plus full text images, either Adobe pdf format or scanned facsimiles.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our Construction Information Service, OHSIS and Specify-It registration and login instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
Accuris’ Privacy Policy and Terms of Use can be viewed via links on the login/registration page.
Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (OHSIS)
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (OHSIS) provides up-to-date reference sources of key Health and Safety documentation relevant to the workplace. OHSIS covers Health and Safety issues such as training, first aid, electrical safety, manual handling, dangerous substances, fire safety, and environmental health guidance. It also includes a selection of British Standards relating to Health and Safety and government legislation and documentation from organisations such as ROSPA and HSE, all available in full text.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our Construction Information Service, OHSIS and Specify-It registration and login instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
Accuris’ Privacy Policy and Terms of Use can be viewed via links on the login/registration page.
SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.

Useful templates

Literature search planning template
This a word template which will help you design your search strategy.
Literature search management
It is always a good idea to record your literature search strategy with the date, resource searched and the results. This is an example spreadsheet.
Synthesis Matrix
A synthesis matrix helps you bring together articles/research on the same theme.

Faculty Librarian

Alasdair Stewart

Email Me

Subjects: Advanced Forming Research Centre, Architecture, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Process Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Design, Manufacture & Engineering Management, Electronic & Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, National Centre for Prosthetics & Orthotics (NCPO), National Manufacturing Institute Scotland (NMIS), Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering, Power Networks Demonstration Centre, Prosthetics & Orthotics

Fighting Ships and SIgnificant Ships

Jane's fighting ships
Call Number: Reference D 623.82502 JAN
This annual publication can be found on level 1 of the library. It provides detailed overviews, specifications, photographs and silhouettes of naval platforms and military ships in development, in production and in service worldwide.
Significant Ships of... by Royal Institution of Naval Architects
Call Number: D 623.81 SIG
Significant Ships is published by RINA and contains illustrations and drawings of the vessels that are being described along with information about the designer and shipbuilder and other descriptive details. The technical particulars (e.g. length, breadth, draught, engine & speed etc) are given along with the ships classification.
Significant Small ships of ... by Royal Institution of Naval Architects.
Call Number: D 623.81 SIG

Literature review

Searching for literature and understanding how that interlinks with writing up your findings and influencing new ideas for your research is a vital skill. The graphic below may help you to understand these processes and how they are inter-linked.

Information Services Andersonian Library Guides

Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering

More Support

Key databases: Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering

Useful templates

Faculty Librarian

Fighting Ships and SIgnificant Ships

Literature review