Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Naval Architecture, Ocean and Marine Engineering websites
There are a huge number of external websites which will be able to support your learning and research, below are a sample of those which may be of interest.
Barbour Product Search
The online building supplies directory, previously available as the Barbour Compendium. You can search by keyword, or browse by category.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society
Society from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) with specialist focus on aspects related to oceanic engineering. Provides professional networking, conferences, subject-speciliast journal and technical committees.
Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology
Professional body for those working in marine engineering, science, or technology, offering careers advice, professional developing, events, networking and online communities.
International Maritime Organization
NATO agency with responsiblity in the areas of safety, security and environmental performance of international shipping.
Royal Institution of Naval Architects
The Royal Institution of Naval Architects is an internationally renowned professional institution whose members are involved at all levels in the design, construction, maintenance and operation of marine vessels and structures. Site contains events, publications, and maritime directories.
Society of Martime Industries - Product Directory
Searchable list of product suppliers working in the maritime industries.
Society of Naval Architects & Marine Engineers
Professional society for those associated with shipbuilding. Site contains information on events, a vartiey of publications and specialist online communities.
Vessel Design Portfolio
Technical information, data sheets and plans from the the BMT Ship Design Portfolio.
A project aiming to collate and standardise ship and aircraft drawings.
Martime Archives shipping registers and databases
A collection of links aiding research into martime history - includes current ship movements.