It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gaelic Medium Education: Databases for Scottish history
The list below provides access to a range of databases which contain materials about Scottish history and the related areas of Scottish literature and languages. Some of the databases are indexes to journals, other provide full text electronic access to primary resources including periodicals, newspapers and images.
Previously known as Archival Sound Recordings, British Library Sounds is an archive of sound recordings from all over the world. Topics include: oral history, accents and dialects, environment and nature and music. Recordings come from the British Library's sound archives.
The Bibliography of British and Irish History searches academic resources (book, book chapters and journal articles) relating to the history of the British Isles and the British Empire and Commonwealth. It covers all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It contains almost 590,000 records.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
(Previously called 'Gale Artemis Primary Sources'.) Gale Primary Sources allows users to search across seven primary source archives from the publisher Gale. This resource replaces NewsVault. The archives are:
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection,
British Library Newspapers - parts 1 and 2 (19th century),
19th Century UK Periodicals,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Financial Times Historical Archive,
The Times Digital Archive and
Full text or page images of over 400,000 books published in England from 1475 to 1900. The service includes EEBO (Early English Books Online), ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online), Nineteenth Century Books from the British Library Collection, and also the UK Medical Heritage Library.
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscribes to the following JSTOR journal collections: Arts & Sciences I,II,III,IV & VII, and Business II. JSTOR archives contains the full-text of non-current issues of journals digitised back to the first issue published to a date generally 3 to 5 years from the most current published issue. We also have access to current content for a few publications on the JSTOR platform. The Library also has access to the JSTOR digitised collection of 19th Century British Pamphlets.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals provides access to over 180 British periodicals from the nineteenth century. The entire text of the periodicals is available meaning that you can search for features within the periodicals such as poems, advertisements, recipes and more. The periodicals are wide-ranging and include those relating to: literature, science, travel, trade, music, sport and hobbies, politics, social reform, architecture, children's periodicals and economics. You can either search Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals on its own here, or with other primary sources using Gale Primary Sources.
Scran is an online learning service from the charity Historic Environment Scotland. It contains over 490,000 images and media from museums, galleries, and archives. It provides access to resources relating to Scotland's culture and heritage.