LibGuides: Gaelic Medium Education: Home

Top Databases for Gaelic Medium Education

British Education Index
- This link opens in a new window
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Useful for English and Creative Writing, Languages and Speech and Language Therapy.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Education Database
- This link opens in a new window
Education database provides full text access to a wide range of journal articles in the field of education covering: adult, primary, secondary, higher, special needs and teacher education. As well as journal articles this database indexes dissertations, reports and working papers. Most of the content is from 1980 to present.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Related Databases for Education

Web of Science - all databases
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Educational Administration Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records and covers the period 1966 to present.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
- This link opens in a new window
This database is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database. More than 383,000 records are included, with over 10,000 new records added each year.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Sociology Database
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 255 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
APA PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Databases for researching bilingualism, the Gaelic language and Gaelic literature

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Useful for English and Creative Writing, Languages and Speech and Language Therapy.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscribes to the following JSTOR journal collections: Arts & Sciences I,II,III,IV & VII, and Business II. JSTOR archives contains the full-text of non-current issues of journals digitised back to the first issue published to a date generally 3 to 5 years from the most current published issue. We also have access to current content for a few publications on the JSTOR platform. The Library also has access to the JSTOR digitised collection of 19th Century British Pamphlets.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
OmniFile Full Text Select
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of journal articles and book reviews. It has multidisciplinary subject coverage, including arts, biology, business, current affairs, education, humanities, information science, law, literature and social sciences.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature provides access to a wide range of literary resources including:

Contemporary Authors Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Centre
LitFinder
Scribner Writer Series
Something About the Author Online
Twayne's Authors Series

For more information about each source click on What's Inside from the main search screen.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Useful shelf numbers - Gaelic Medium Education

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Useful Gaelic and education related subjects shelfmarks:

D 306.449 Language policy

D 370 General education

D 371.9 Special education

D 372 Primary education

D 373 Secondary education

D 378 Higher education

D 404.2 Bilingualism

D 491.63 Gaelic Language

D 825 Gaelic Literature

J 808.36 Children's books in Gaelic

Gaelic language materials in the Andersonian Library

The Andersonian Library has a variety of Gaelic language materials in its collections. These include the following types of resources:

Reports from organisations including the Gaelic Broadcasting Committee
Official publications including the Gaelic Language (Scotland) Act 2005
Journals, including Gairm the major Gaelic journal (see more about journals below)
Gaelic literature poetry and drama, located at D 824.8, D 825
Books about Gaelic identity at D 306.48309411
Gaelic language resources, including dictionaries and materials suitable for language learners at D 491.63
Books about Gaelic Medium Education D 491.6307
Gaelic musical materials D 782.421622
Books about Scottish history with specialisms in Gaelic D 941.15
Children's book in Gaelic J 808.36

If you are part time or distance learning student and would like to borrow books from the Library, please use our postal loans service.

Gaelic language journals in the Andersonian Library

The Library has copies of the Gaelic journal Gairm from 1955 to 2002. You can use the Am Baile website or the Gaelic Resource Database to search the contents of this journal. Once you have identified an article in Gairm which you wish to read you can either: come into the Library and consult the journal on Level 1, or if you are based off campus, use our photocopying service to request a photocopy of the article.

The following Gaelic journals are also available:

Transactions of the Gaelic Society of Inverness, vol. 2 (1872) - vol. 56 (1992). An online searchable index is available.
Scottish Gaelic Studies, vol 4(2) (1935) - vol. 13(1) (1978)