LibGuides: Civil and Environmental Engineering: Home

Key databases: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Civil Engineering Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Materials Science & Engineering Database, CSA / ASCE Civil Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides comprehensive international coverage as well as numerous non-serial publications. Many of the more recent records in the database include fields containing cited references, corresponding author's e-mail address, and publisher contact information.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Compendex [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Subject coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Construction Information Service
- This link opens in a new window
The Construction Information Service Online (CIS Online) provides electronic access to technical information including an index to a selection of standards, regulatory and advisory documents, guidance and other material for the UK construction industry. The online service provides bibliographic data such as document titles and summaries plus full text images, either Adobe pdf format or scanned facsimiles.
Users cannot sign in to this eResource using University credentials. Users must register and log in using an individual account. Please follow our Construction Information Service, OHSIS and Specify-It registration and login instructions to access this eResource. You must register using your University of Strathclyde email address. For security reasons, please do not reuse your University password when registering your account. Links to the Accuris Privacy Policy and Terms of Use are available on the login/registration page.
Ordnance Survey Digimap
- This link opens in a new window
Digimap is an online map and data delivery service, offering a number of data collections. Ordnance Survey Digimap contains contemporary Ordnance Survey maps and map data. Scottish Improvement Service data collection is also included but not as a Roam overlay only as downloaded GIS data.

Please note - downloading data for use in GIS or CAD applications requires specialised software which is NOT available on PCs in the Library.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

All users must register an account with EDINA upon accessing the Digimap service for the first time. EDINA's Privacy Notice can be accessed via a link in the registration form. All users must agree to the end user licence for the relevant Digimap Collection(s) they wish to access.
GEOBASE [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
GEOBASE via the Engineering Village database platform.
A multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for the earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, physical geography, and oceanography. Includes both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications; refereed scientific papers; magazine articles; product reviews; directories and any other relevant material. It has a unique coverage of non-English language and less readily available publications including books, conference proceedings and reports.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
GeoScienceWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for researchers in the Earth Sciences. Strathclyde has access to peer-reviewed journals on this platform, and to 2011-2019 GeoScienceWorld eBook content. Strathclyde also has access to the GeoRef bibliographic database and thesaurus, which are integrated into the GeoScienceWorld platform.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
SBCC Online
- This link opens in a new window
This service provides contractual documentation for building and construction work in Scotland. SBCC contracts are modified JCT contracts produced to be compliant with Scottish law and practice. An SBCC Education subscription allows students and staff, at educational institutions, access to view (but not complete) copies of all SBCC building contracts and guides that are available online.

Access to SBCC contracts is restricted to staff and students on relevant academic courses and is for educational use only.See 'More...' for details on how to access this resource.
This eResource cannot be accessed by using University of Strathclyde email address and password. To request a username and password for this resource, please submit an SBCC Online Access Request and Library staff will contact you with instructions on how to access this resource.

Specify-It
- This link opens in a new window
Specify-It contains product and supplier information for a wide range of engineering areas including building, civil engineering, process and electronic and electrical. It provides up to date product catalogues. The service allows users to search for and identify products and suppliers to meet their exact project requirements - and to have immediate access to full-text, full-colour catalogues, data sheets, selector guides and brochures from the relevant suppliers listed. It includes over 175,000 documents from more than 10,000 manufacturers and suppliers.
Users cannot sign in to this eResource using University credentials. Users must register and log in using an individual account. Please follow our Construction Information Service, OHSIS and Specify-It registration and login instructions to access this eResource. You must register using your University of Strathclyde email address. For security reasons, please do not reuse your University password when registering your account. Links to the Accuris Privacy Policy and Terms of Use are available on the login/registration page.

Knovel

Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel is an online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases. It has extensive coverage across all Engineering disciplines and Chemistry.

Knovel also provides additional tools. A substantial unit conversion tool, key interactive formulae from the major engineering and chemistry professional bodies, tables and graphs that allow users to manipulate, analyze, and export data.
Strathclyde members should access Knovel using library records in SUPrimo, A-Z, LibGuides, Reading Lists etc. and sign in using University credentials. Strathclyde members should not create a My Knovel account with a separate Knovel password.
Knovel allows users to register a profile for access to personalised features. This is optional. Please read our Knovel Login and Profile user guide for information on how to register a profile. Elsevier's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy can be accessed via the links on the Knovel website.

Useful templates

Literature search planning template
This a word template which will help you design your search strategy.
Literature search management
It is always a good idea to record your literature search strategy with the date, resource searched and the results. This is an example spreadsheet.
Synthesis Matrix
A synthesis matrix helps you bring together articles/research on the same theme.

Related guides

Architecture resources
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Feb 13, 2024 441 views this year
Chemical and Process Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 205 views this year
Electronic and Electrical Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 310 views this year
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 129 views this year

Faculty Librarian

Alasdair Stewart

Email Me

Subjects: Advanced Forming Research Centre, AFRC, Architecture, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Process Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Design, Manufacture & Engineering Management, Electronic & Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering, Prosthetics & Orthotics

Literature Review

Searching for literature and understanding how that interlinks with writing up your findings and influencing new ideas for your research is a vital skill. The graphic below may help you to understand these processes and how they are inter-linked.

Useful shelf numbers

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful shelfmarks.

D 551 Geology and hydrology

D 624.1 Structural engineering and underground construction

D 625 Engineering of roads and railroads

D 628 Environmental engineering

D 690 Construction of buildings