It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemical and Process Engineering: Home
This guide will help you find and use Library resources for your assignments, dissertations, theses and other research. Please contact me if you would like further help or information.
Analytical Abstracts, from the Royal Society of Chemistry provides analytical chemistry information. It covers more than 100 international journals and includes the full content of Analytical Abstracts from 1980 to date.
Reference resource containing monographs of medicinal and pharmaceutical substances. British Pharmacopoeia (BP) 2017 edition incorporates European Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Eur.) 9th ed and Supplement 9.1, marked with orange banners.
Compendex database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Subject coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Engineer-it provides up to date product catalogues for designers, specifiers and purchasers in design and manufacturing, process engineering and electronics. It includes over 1,800,000 pages of full text catalogues from more than 6,500 manufacturers and suppliers.
Use your University DS login. Access restrictions apply. Select the University of Strathclyde from the Home Institution / Identity Provider drop-down box, then click on Go. Enter your DS username and password on the next screen.
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Reaxys is a factual chemistry database combining three major databases: Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry databases. It covers organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry and includes data on single and multi-step reactions, physical properties, structures and catalysts.
Use your University DS login. Access restrictions apply.
SciFinder contains chemical and related information from six databases: CA plus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST and MEDLINE.
Off campus? Use your University DS login, and then enter your SciFinder username and password. The same username and password can be used for both SciFinder and SciFinder-n. First time users should contact firstname.lastname@example.org to register.
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Off campus? Use your University DS login.
Searching for literature and understanding how that interlinks with writing up your findings and influencing new ideas for your research is a vital skill. The graphic below may help you to understand these processes and how they are inter-linked.
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.
You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
Here are some useful shelfmarks.
D 541 Physical & theoretical chemistry
D 546 Inorganic chemistry
D 620.1129 Nanoscience
D 620.1199 Nanotechnology
D 660 Chemical engineering
Using the Library
A few links for useful information on our servcies are: