LibGuides: Architecture: Home

Architecture library move

During the summer of 2023 the contents of the Architecture Library based in the Department of Architecture moved across into the Andersonian Library. These books and journals are now being added into the main library. Whilst the project takes place the books will be held in a store but can be requested by all members of the library.

All books and journals can now be discovered by searching the library catalogue
Search the library catalogue to find your book then choose 'Request from Store'. Library staff will collect it from store for you. We fetch items from store on weekdays only. Requests submitted before 10.30am are usually available at 11.30am. You can collect the item from the Reservations Pick Up Point in the Short Loan Collection, and issue it to yourself at the self service kiosks.
When the book is returned to the library it will be catalogued and added to the normal library shelves to make subsequent use easier.
The project to catalogue, classify and process these books has an expected end date of December 2024
Some key journal titles are still available in the department. (Architects Journal, Architectural Review, El Croquis and Banister Fletcher)

Key databases: Architecture

AJ Buildings Library
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
A database of more than 1,900 exemplar projects, most from the last twenty years but includes major projects back to 1900. (For online access to Architects' Journal, use the Architects' Journal SUPrimo record.)

This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our Architects’ Journal / AJ Buildings Library instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
Once you have registered an account use this to log in to both AJ Buildings Library and Architects' Journal. (Please note that users must register a separate account for access to Architectural Review.)
EMAP's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy can be viewed via links in the user registration form.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art, Design & Architecture Collection from ProQuest contains specialist abstract and indexing databases in the fields of visual and applied arts, plus full-text access to a selection of Arts & Humanities journals.
Featured databases include ARTbibliographies Modern (modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (Western art history).
Dates of coverage: 1973 - current.
Subject coverage includes: fine art, art history, architecture, design and applied arts
Bloomsbury Architecture Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains a wide range of resources supporting the study of architecture, urbanism, interior design as well as studio design and professional practice. It gives access to the important title 'Sir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture (21st edition)'.
Building Types Online
- This link opens in a new window
Building Types Online is a resource for the study and practice of architectural design. The database offers highly flexible and detailed search and browse access to the contents of the Birkhäuser program on building types. The database contains a large international collection of contemporary buildings, from housing and offices to museums, schools and other building types, floor plans and other architectural drawings. A large part of the drawings are vector-based.
Strathclyde has access to all content on Building Types Online, up to and including 2021 content.
When accessing this resource from the A to Z or SUPrimo database records, on-campus users will be signed in automatically, but off-campus users will need to go through the following steps:
- click on the Account icon and then select 'SIGN IN/SIGN UP',
- select 'Access through your institution',
- search for and select ‘University of Strathclyde’,
- enter University credentials when prompted.
Compendex [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Subject coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Construction Information Service
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
The Construction Information Service Online (CIS Online) provides electronic access to technical information including an index to a selection of standards, regulatory and advisory documents, guidance and other material for the UK construction industry. The online service provides bibliographic data such as document titles and summaries plus full text images, either Adobe pdf format or scanned facsimiles.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our Construction Information Service, OHSIS and Specify-It registration and login instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
Accuris’ Privacy Policy and Terms of Use can be viewed via links on the login/registration page.
DETAIL Inspiration
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DETAIL inspiration is designed to be a high-quality research and inspiration source for architects and structural engineers. It contains detailed building project descriptions, drawings, generous pictures and offers information on architects and manufacturers.
Ordnance Survey Digimap
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Digimap is an online map and data delivery service, offering a number of data collections. Ordnance Survey Digimap contains contemporary Ordnance Survey maps and map data.
Strathclyde users have access to ‘LandClan’, ‘OS National Geographic Database’ and ‘Improvement Service Scotland’ datasets. These are accessed within the 'Download Data' section of Ordnance Survey Digimap. Users need to accept the separate end-user licences within the 'Licence Agreements' area before accessing these datasets.
Please note - downloading data for use in GIS or CAD applications requires specialised software which is NOT available on PCs in the Library.
Users should sign in to this resource using University email address and password. First time users (and users who have not accessed Digimap in over 12 months) will also be prompted to register an account. All users must agree to the end user licence for the relevant Digimap Collection(s) they wish to access. Our Digimap - accessing collections and datasets document has more information.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. Users are not required to create a separate password for this resource.
Digimap’s Privacy Notice can be viewed via a link in the registration form.
SBCC Online
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
This service provides contractual documentation for building and construction work in Scotland. SBCC contracts are modified JCT contracts produced to be compliant with Scottish law and practice. An SBCC Education subscription allows students and staff, at educational institutions, access to view (but not complete) copies of all SBCC building contracts and guides that are available online.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. To request a username and password for this resource, please submit an SBCC Online Access Request and Library staff will contact you with instructions on how to access this database.
Access to SBCC contracts is restricted to staff and students on relevant academic courses and is for educational use only.
SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Specify-It
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Specify-It contains product and supplier information for a wide range of engineering areas including building, civil engineering, process and electronic and electrical. It provides up to date product catalogues. The service allows users to search for and identify products and suppliers to meet their exact project requirements - and to have immediate access to full-text, full-colour catalogues, data sheets, selector guides and brochures from the relevant suppliers listed. It includes over 175,000 documents from more than 10,000 manufacturers and suppliers.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our Construction Information Service, OHSIS and Specify-It registration and login instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
Accuris’ Privacy Policy and Terms of Use can be viewed via links on the login/registration page.

Presentations

Architecture 1st year presentation
Introduction to the library
Architecture 4th year presentation
Covering literature searching, specialist resources, further training

Useful templates

Literature search planning template
This a word template which will help you design your search strategy.
Literature search management
It is always a good idea to record your literature search strategy with the date, resource searched and the results. This is an example spreadsheet.
Synthesis Matrix
A synthesis matrix helps you bring together articles/research on the same theme.

Faculty Librarian

Alasdair Stewart

Email Me

Subjects: Advanced Forming Research Centre, Architecture, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Process Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Design, Manufacture & Engineering Management, Electronic & Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, National Centre for Prosthetics & Orthotics (NCPO), National Manufacturing Institute Scotland (NMIS), Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering, Power Networks Demonstration Centre, Prosthetics & Orthotics

Related guides

Civil & Environmental Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Sep 5, 2024 386 views this year
Design, Manufacture & Engineering Management
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Sep 5, 2024 445 views this year

Information Services Andersonian Library Guides

Architecture

More Support