LibGuides: Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Home

Key databases: Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Compendex [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Subject coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Materials Science & Engineering Database, this database provides indexing and abstracts to records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports in the fields of mechanical and transportation engineering.
Dates of coverage: 1966 - current.
Subject coverage includes: automotive engineering, naval and marine engineering, aerospace engineering, industrial and manufacturing engineering.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database features wide coverage of research in subjects such as computer and information systems, electronics, telecommunications, military technology, solid state and superconductivity, lasers and many other areas. Sources covered include not just within academic journals but in the grey literature including patents, conference proceedings, government reports and more to provide the widest awareness and discovery of developments in the field.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
SAE eBook Collection
A collection of over 350 eBooks with a focus on transport engineering. Strathclyde has access to the eBook ‘Collections’ on the SAE Mobilus platform from 1990 to 2022 (inclusive); and access to 2023 SAE eBooks on IEEE Xplore. SUPrimo contains records for the titles to which we have access.
Please follow 'Authentication note' instructions against individual eBook records in SUPrimo.

Knovel - Ebooks and interactive formulae

Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel is an online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases. It has extensive coverage across all Engineering disciplines and Chemistry.

Knovel also provides additional tools. A substantial unit conversion tool, key interactive formulae from the major engineering and chemistry professional bodies, tables and graphs that allow users to manipulate, analyze, and export data.
Strathclyde members should access Knovel using library records in SUPrimo, A-Z, LibGuides, Reading Lists etc. and sign in using University credentials. Strathclyde members should not create a My Knovel account with a separate Knovel password.
Knovel allows users to register a profile for access to personalised features. This is optional. Please read our Knovel Login and Profile user guide for information on how to register a profile. Elsevier's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy can be accessed via the links on the Knovel website.

Useful templates

Literature search planning template
This a word template which will help you design your search strategy.
Literature search management
It is always a good idea to record your literature search strategy with the date, resource searched and the results. This is an example spreadsheet.
Synthesis Matrix
A synthesis matrix helps you bring together articles/research on the same theme.

Faculty Librarian

Alasdair Stewart

Email Me

Subjects: Advanced Forming Research Centre, AFRC, Architecture, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Process Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Design, Manufacture & Engineering Management, Electronic & Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine Engineering, Prosthetics & Orthotics

Related guides

Electronic and Electrical Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 302 views this year
Naval Architecture, Ocean and Marine Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 157 views this year
Design, Manufacture and Engineering Management
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 124 views this year
Biomedical Engineering resources
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 1509 views this year

Literature review

Searching for literature and understanding how that interlinks with writing up your findings and influencing new ideas for your research is a vital skill. The graphic below may help you to understand these processes and how they are inter-linked.

Useful shelf numbers

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful shelfmarks.

D 333.7 Renewable energy

D 532 Fluid mechanics

D 621 Mechanical engineering (general)

D 621.8 Machine engineering

D 629.1 Aerospace engineering

D 629.4 Astronautics

D 629.892 Robotics