LibGuides: Open Access: Finding and Accessing Open Access Resources: Open Access Books

How Can I Find Open Access Monographs?

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
- This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.
HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.

Open Research Library
Open Research Library (ORL) is an aggregation of peer-reviewed, Open Access scholarly monographs which is hosted on the BiblioBoard platform. ORL offers access to more than 14,000 Open Access books.
OAPEN Library
The OAPEN Library contains a quality-controlled collection of hundreds of Open Access books
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. NAP currently offers more than 8,500 titles in pdf format. The majority of these pdf files can be downloaded for free by the chapter or by the entire book.

Smaller Open Access Publishers and List of Open Access Book Publishers

You can also find and access Open Access books by visiting the websites of small Open Access publishers. Some suggestions of where to look include:

Open Humanities Press
Open Humanities Press (OHP) is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. OHP currently offers around 60 Open Access book titles.
Open Library of the Humanities
The Open Library of the Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing peer-reviewed Open Access humanities scholarship.
Luminos
Luminos is the University of California’s Open Access publishing platform for academic monographs.
Lever Press
Lever Press is a scholarly press supported by 65 liberal arts institutions. Lever Press publishes peer-reviewed, born digital Open Access monographs at no cost to authors or their academic institutions.
MIT Press
Established in 1962, MIT Press is one of the largest university presses in the world and published a significant number of Open Access books in the fields of science, technology, art, social science, and design.
University of Michigan Press
The University of Michigan Press publishes a wide range of Open Access books, with a focus on the humanities and social sciences. All Open Access books published by the University of Michigan Press are available under a licence which permits re-use, usually a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) license.
List of Open Access Book Publishers
List of Open Access book publishers. This is part of the Open Access Directory, which is a 'compendium of simple factual lists about Open Access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large'.

Search for Open Access books via SUPrimo Library Search

You can search for Open Access books via SUPrimo library search. You can use the filters located on the menu on the left-hand-side of side of the page to filter your search results to show Open Access books. Under the heading ‘Availability’ select ‘Open Access’ and under the heading ‘Resource Type’ select ‘Books’ or ‘Book chapters’ (Step 1). Your rersults will then be retrieved (Step 2). You can use the filters on the left-hand-side of the results page to further refine your results. For example, you can select which collection to use.

Open Access: Finding and Accessing Open Access Resources: Open Access Books

What are Open Access Books?

How Can I Find Open Access Monographs?

Smaller Open Access Publishers and List of Open Access Book Publishers

Search for Open Access books via SUPrimo Library Search

Step 1: Apply Filters

Step 2: Retrieve Results