LibGuides: Open Access: Finding and Accessing Open Access Resources: Open Access Theses

What Are Open Access Theses?

The term ‘thesis’ refers to a piece of work undertaken for a research degree – for example, a PhD, MLitt, MRes, etc. You can find Strathclyde theses available via from the library by searching in SUPrimo. This is just one of a number of ways that you can find electronic theses.

Open Access theses are those which are openly available, and which may allow for varying degrees of re-use.

For more information about making your own thesis openly available and for information about copyright, please see the LibGuide 'Copyright & Your Thesis'.

How Can I Find Open Access Theses?

There are several different resources you can use to find Open Access theses. You may find the following resources useful:

DART Europe
DART Europe provides access to over 1 million Open Access research theses from 569 universities across 29 European countries. You can search the collection, view the latest editions and browse by university, collection, country and year.

EBSCO eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
EThOS
- This link opens in a new window
The British Library provides digitised UK PhD theses online via the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS). You can search the site without registering, but to download a thesis you must register and agree to the terms and conditions of access. Access to theses which have already been digitised is free. If a thesis has not already been digitised you may be asked to pay the cost of digitisation (£60) or it may be free. This depends on the policy of the institution supplying the thesis. For more information see the Library's EThOS webpage.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.

OAIster
Search Open Access resources include theses.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Search for Open Access theses and dissertations.