Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful websites for Genealogy
Members can access 1 billion searchable UK family history records. Launched in 2002, Ancestry.co.uk’s extensive collection enables members to explore their family history using censuses, the fully indexed birth, marriage and death records, passenger lists, the British phone books, military and parish records. Members can also explore names in other family trees and upload photographs of their own, and in doing so connect to millions of other members making their own discoveries.
Archives in over 250 UK universities, colleges and museums.
Commonwealth War Graves Commission
The Commonwealth War Graves Commission ensures that 1.7 million people who died in the two world wars will never be forgotten. It cares for cemeteries and memorials at 23,000 locations, in 154 countries.
Council of Irish Genealogical Organisations (CIGO)
A lobby group for the various national and international organisations sharing an interest in Irish genealogical research.
An index to genealogical resources for the United Kingdom and Ireland.
A genealogy index compiled by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Federation of Family History Societies (FFHS)
An educational charity with over 180 family history societies throughout the world.
Find A Grave
Find the graves of ancestors.
GENUKI provides a virtual reference library of genealogical information of particular relevance to the UK and Ireland. It is a non-commercial service, maintained by a charitable trust and a group of volunteers.
Integrated Census Microdata
Part of the UK Data Archive (see below) this site allows researchers to explore historic census data covering the period 1851-1911. User guides are available on the website.
Autobiographies, journals, diaries, reminiscences, images, and letters linked to hundreds of known LDS immigrant voyages, giving a composite history of Mormon immigration to America.
The UK government's official archive for England, Wales and the United Kingdom.
National Records of Scotland
Established on 1 April 2011, following the merger of the General Register Office for Scotland (GROS) and the National Archives of Scotland. It is the main archive for sources of the history of Scotland as a separate kingdom and her role in the British Isles.
Records of the Parliament of Scotland to 1707
Contains the proceedings of the Scottish parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707.
The official Scottish genealogy resource - Scottish census records, wills and testaments, birth certificates and death certificates, parish registers, valuation rolls, soldiers' wills.
Scottish Association of Family History Societies
Promotes and encourages the study of Scottish family history, and provides a forum for the exchange of information among members.
Scottish Genealogy Society
The Society, based in Edinburgh and founded in 1953, helps with research into Scottish family and local history.
Scottish Post Office Directories
A useful resource for tracing local and family history within Scotland.