Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library eResources LibGuide: eResources Status

General access and support information regarding the library's electronic resources (eBooks, eJournals and databases).

Overview

This page provides information and updates on any known access problems or planned maintenance affecting our library electronic resources (eBooks, eJournals and databases).  For information on the status of IT systems and services, please follow the below link to the IT Service Status page.

If you experience any problems using our library electronic resources, please first check the list below to see if this is a known issue.  If the problem is not listed here, please report the issue to the Information Services' helpdesk using the contact details provided below.  For general help using our library electronic resources, please contact the helpdesk, or browse our LibGuides for subject specific and How To... guides.  

Ongoing Library eResource issues

Details of ongoing library electronic resource issues and any planned maintenance

Dates are in format dd-mm-yyyy.

eResource (provider) Details of problem Date raised
Oxford and University Press Scholarship Online eBooks There is currently a problem with the Institutional login option on the Oxford/University Press Scholarship Online platform, which has been reported to the publisher  The login is initially successful, but as users move around the site it falls away and users are no longer recognised as Strathclyde members and able to access full text content.  SUPrimo records for individual 'Oxford and University Press Scholarship Online eBook Collection' titles are working as normal. If you need to sign in on the platform homepage, please use this alternative URL in the meantime https://login.proxy.lib.strath.ac.uk/login?url=https://www.universitypressscholarship.com/ . 27-01-2022
Oxford Academic (Oxford University Press) We are currently experiencing problems with linking via SUPrimo records for articles on the Oxford University Press Journals site. While this problem is ongoing, as an alternative access route users can go to https://login.proxy.lib.strath.ac.uk/login?url=https://academic.oup.com/journals , entering DS login if prompted, and search or browse for the required journal or article. 25-01-2022
A-Z database list We are aware of a problem with the A-Z database list where the search function and the alphabetical browse function are not working when both are applied.  We have reported the issue to our provider. In the meantime, please either search or browse when using the A-Z list, but do not do both together. 20-01-2022
Sage Research methods

We are aware of intermittent access problems to Sage Research Methods. The problem seems to have gone away, though Sage are continuing to investigate. If your browser does stick on a blank page, please try clicking on the link in the A-Z database record / SUPrimo record for a second time; or clear your browser cookies and cache and try again.

17-09-2021 [updated 25-10-2021]
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) have removed coverage start and end dates from their journal records. DOAJ plan to reintroduce this information, but cannot give a timeframe for when this will happen. In the meantime, SUPrimo may incorrectly indicate 'Full text available at: DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) eJournal Collection' for articles where we do not have full text electronic access as DOAJ does not provide access to content from that year. 15-09-2021
ASTM Compass

ASTM upgraded their ASTM Compass platform in August.  Access via SUPrimo Library Catalogue records was affected by the upgrade and we are working with the publisher to fix these problems. While this issue is ongoing, please access this eResource using the ASTM Compass A-Z database list record or the ASTM Compass SUPrimo 'database' record. Apologies for the inconvenience.

08-08-2021 [last updated 22-09-2021]
WARC If users attempt to go through the Sign In option and then select the institutional sign in option from WARC, this returns an error.  We have reported this to WARC. Please access WARC via the A-Z database record or SUPrimo database record. 29-06-2021
British Standards Online There is a known issue affecting British Standards Institute (BSI) records in SUPrimo.  If the link from a SUPrimo record returns an error, please access British Standards Online via the A-Z databases list record, and search for the Standard you require. 29-06-2021
JSTOR articles There is currently a problem affecting SUPrimo record links to many articles on JSTOR.  The problem does not affect all article links, but does affect a large number.  This is currently being investigated by the company who provide the article records. If you experience a problem with linking from SUPrimo to an article on JSTOR, please search in SUPrimo for the journal record and then browse to the required article. 26-05-2021
Brill Reference Works and Primary Sources If off-campus users go directly to Brill Reference Works or Brill Primary Sources and use the 'institutional Login option, the Where Are You From page is displaying as 'not secure' in Firefox or Edge browsers. This has been reported to Brill.  As a workaround, users can either use Chrome browser, or can access our Brill content on these platforms via the SUPrimo catalogue records for the specific titles, which allow off-campus access via a different authentication method. 03-12-2020
ACM Digital Library Please note that the Find it@Strathclyde button is not working correctly on the ACM Digital Library site.  This has been reported to ACM. 24-08-2020
Sustainable Organization Library Sustainable Organization Library titles have moved from the Ingenta platform to Taylor & Francis eBooks.  Please search on Taylor & Francis eBooks to find Sustainable Organization Library titles. We are aware that some Sustainable Organization Library titles are missing from the Taylor & Francis platform and we are working with Taylor & Francis to address this, and to update the links in SUPrimo and other library records.  30-04-2020
Who Was Who (Oxford University Press) SUPrimo 'Reference Entries' type records for 'Who Was Who' content return Page Not Found error.  This has been reported to provider.  Where these records contain broken links, the resource can instead be accessed via the Who's Who and Who Was Who SUPrimo 'database' record or the A-Z Database record. last updated 16-12-2019

Last updated 27-01-2022

Recently resolved Library eResource issues

Details of issues resolved within past month.

Dates are in format dd-mm-yyyy.

eResource (provider) Details of problem                                                                                             Date Resolved
Wiley Online Library We were experiencing a problem with the Shibboleth authentication (INSTITUTIONAL LOGIN route) on Wiley Online Library returning an error message; which was also affecting access via many SUPrimo records for Wiley eResource content.  Access is now working as normal. 12-01-2022
Oxford Journals (Oxford University Press) There was previously a problem affecting some PDF article content on the Oxford Academic (Oxford Journals) platform. The problem is no longer occurring. 16-12-2021
VLeBooks We experienced problems last week with accessing eBooks on the VLeBooks platform - with the site failing to prompt users for DS login details; and also users hitting a Page Not Found error message. Askews & Holts have confirmed that the problem has been fixed. 15-12-2021
Liverpool University Press eBooks on UPSO We recently experienced a problem with links from catalogue records to certain Liverpool University Press eBook titles leading to eBooks which we could not access.  The publisher has now provided updated information on which titles our institution is currently able to access, and catalogue records have been removed from SUPrimo for eBooks which we do not have access to. 13-12-2021
EBSCO eBook Collection EBSCO have now resolved the problem of accessing ebooks. 08-12-2021
African Writers Series The problems with access to African Writers Series have now been resolved. Access to these titles is now available on the ProQuest databases platform. 07-12-2021
Gale Literature Gale Literature now seems to be running normally and returning search results.  01-12-2021
Mass Observation records in A-Z database list We were experiencing a problem with the A-Z Database list records for Mass Observation Online and Mass Observation Project not being returned consistently in the A-Z list search results. The records are now appearing normally when users search in the A-Z. 09-11-2021
EBSCO eBook Collection EBSCO have fixed the problem reported by various institutions of error messages occurring when attempting to access eBooks.  More information is provided on EBSCO's status page.   09-11-2021

Last updated  12-01-2022

IT Service Status

For status information on IT Systems and Services, please check the IT Service Status webpage.

Get Help or Report an Issue

If you require help using any of our library electronic resources, or come across any access, downtime or technical issues with these resources which are not listed on this page, please let us know at the Information Services’ helpdesk.

  • Support portal: You can log an enquiry using our support portal.
  • Email: help@strath.ac.uk
  • Telephone: 0141 548 4444
  • In person: The main enquiry desk is on Level 3 of the Library. We also have enquiry points on Levels 4 and 5.

Additional contact information including service opening hours can be found via our Contact Us webpage.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home