Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library eResources LibGuide: eResources Status

General access and support information regarding the library's electronic resources (eBooks, eJournals and databases).

Overview

This page provides information and updates on any known access problems or planned maintenance affecting our library electronic resources (eBooks, eJournals and databases).  For information on the status of IT systems and services, please follow the below link to the IT Service Status page.

If you experience any problems using our library electronic resources, please first check the list below to see if this is a known issue.  If the problem is not listed here, please report the issue to the Information Services' helpdesk using the contact details provided below.  For general help using our library electronic resources, please contact the helpdesk, or browse our LibGuides for subject specific and How To... guides.  

Ongoing Library eResource issues

Details of ongoing library electronic resource issues and any planned maintenance

Dates are in format dd-mm-yyyy.

eResource (provider) Details of problem Date raised
Sage Research methods

We are aware of intermittent access problems to Sage Research Methods. Sage are investigating this problem. If your browser does stick on a blank page, please try clicking on the link in the A-Z database record / SUPrimo record for a second time; or clear your browser cookies and cache and try again.

17-09-2021 [updated 28-09-2021]
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) have removed coverage start and end dates from their journal records. DOAJ plan to reintroduce this information, but cannot give a timeframe for when this will happen. In the meantime, SUPrimo may incorrectly indicate 'Full text available at: DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) eJournal Collection' for articles where we do not have full text electronic access as DOAJ does not provide access to content from that year. 15-09-2021
ASTM Compass

ASTM upgraded their ASTM Compass platform in August.  Access via SUPrimo Library Catalogue records was affected by the upgrade and we are working with the publisher to fix these problems. While this issue is ongoing, please access this eResource using the ASTM Compass A-Z database list record or the ASTM Compass SUPrimo 'database' record. Apologies for the inconvenience.

08-08-2021 [last updated 22-09-2021]
WARC If users attempt to go through the Sign In option and then select the institutional sign in option from WARC, this returns an error.  We have reported this to WARC. Please access WARC via the A-Z database record or SUPrimo database record. 29-06-2021
British Standards Online There is a known issue affecting British Standards Institute (BSI) records in SUPrimo.  If the link from a SUPrimo record returns an error, please access British Standards Online via the A-Z databases list record, and search for the Standard you require. 29-06-2021
GaleCengage journal and article records We are experiencing a problem with missing catalogue records in relation to journals and articles on the Gale Academic OneFile and Gale Business Insights Global databases.  If you are struggling to find journal and article records for content within these databases, please access the databases via the A-Z database records. 21-06-2021
JSTOR articles There is currently a problem affecting SUPrimo record links to many articles on JSTOR.  The problem does not affect all article links, but does affect a large number.  This is currently being investigated by the company who provide the article records. If you experience a problem with linking from SUPrimo to an article on JSTOR, please search in SUPrimo for the journal record and then browse to the required article. 26-05-2021
Brill Reference Works and Primary Sources If off-campus users go directly to Brill Reference Works or Brill Primary Sources and use the 'institutional Login option, the Where Are You From page is displaying as 'not secure' in Firefox or Edge browsers. This has been reported to Brill.  As a workaround, users can either use Chrome browser, or can access our Brill content on these platforms via the SUPrimo catalogue records for the specific titles, which allow off-campus access via a different authentication method. 03-12-2020
ACM Digital Library Please note that the Find it@Strathclyde button is not working correctly on the ACM Digital Library site.  This has been reported to ACM. 24-08-2020
Sustainable Organization Library Sustainable Organization Library titles have moved from the Ingenta platform to Taylor & Francis eBooks.  Please search on Taylor & Francis eBooks to find Sustainable Organization Library titles. We are aware that some Sustainable Organization Library titles are missing from the Taylor & Francis platform and we are working with Taylor & Francis to address this, and to update the links in SUPrimo and other library records.  30-04-2020
Who Was Who (Oxford University Press) SUPrimo 'Reference Entries' type records for 'Who Was Who' content return Page Not Found error.  This has been reported to provider.  Where these records contain broken links, the resource can instead be accessed via the Who's Who and Who Was Who SUPrimo 'database' record or the A-Z Database record. last updated 16-12-2019

Last updated 05-10-2021

Recently resolved Library eResource issues

Details of issues resolved within past month.

Dates are in format dd-mm-yyyy.

eResource (provider) Details of problem                                                                                             Date Resolved
EBSCO databases EBSCO Engineering teams have fixed the problems with OpenAthens/Shibboleth/Personal User authentication that were affecting Ebsco Research Databases. 04-10-2021
Westlaw UK and Practical Law (Thomson Reuters) The access problem affecting Westlaw UK and Practical Law (taking long time to load, server errors, timeouts) appear to have been sorted by Thomson Retuers. Access is now working as expected. If you experience any problems please contact Information Services' Helpdesk using the contact details provided on this page. 29-09-2021
EBSCO databases The problem with the Find it@Strathclyde linking from EBSCO databases has now been corrected. Apologies for the inconvenience. 21-09-2021
Web of Science (Clarivate) Clarivate have resolved the issues with extremely slow log-in behaviour when accessing Web of Science. Please be aware that off-campus log-in to Web of Science does take longer than on-campus access. Please be patient and do not click away or close your browser window while waiting for the eResource to load. Once the site has loaded initially, site speeds should be normal. 13-09-2021
Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (Clarivate) Off-campus users attempting to to directly to Journal Citation Reports or Essential Science Indicators were unable to log in via the Institutional Sign In option. This problem has now been fixed. 09-09-2021
Web of Science (Clarivate) A pop-up error message was appearing on Web of Science saying 'Server.Jcr Error.' on the search results page.  This problem has now been fixed. 09-09-2021

Last updated  05-10-2021

IT Service Status

For status information on IT Systems and Services, please check the IT Service Status webpage.

Get Help or Report an Issue

If you require help using any of our library electronic resources, or come across any access, downtime or technical issues with these resources which are not listed on this page, please let us know at the Information Services’ helpdesk.

  • Support portal: You can log an enquiry using our support portal.
  • Email: help@strath.ac.uk
  • Telephone: 0141 548 4444
  • In person: The main enquiry desk is on Level 3 of the Library. We also have enquiry points on Levels 4 and 5.

Additional contact information including service opening hours can be found via our Contact Us webpage.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home