LibGuides: Economics: Company Information

Key Databases - Company Information

BankFocus
BankFocus is a database of banks worldwide. The information is sourced by Bureau van Dijk from a combination of annual reports, information providers and regulatory sources. There are detailed financials for around 46,600 banks, approx. 30,000 in North America and the rest world-wide. The number of years available varies between regions and templates. Most banks have at least seven years of history; some have 30.
FAME
Fame is the leading company database for the UK and Ireland, tracking 15 million companies from SMEs to large global players, including public, private, active, inactive, dissolved, charities, and sole traders. Fame also includes 20 years of historical financial and ownership data. Moody's collect this information from 15 best-in-class information providers such as Companies House, then standardise, and link all the data together making it very easy to create a panel data set to compare years against years and companies against companies. The detailed information includes: Company profile, profit and loss account, balance sheet, cash flow statement, ratios and trends, credit score and rating, complete lists of holding companies, security and price data, subsidiaries and directors, shareholders, all "site/trading" addresses, activity information, corporate tree diagrams, miscellaneous information.
S&P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Stock market and financial information. Includes company profiles, executive summaries, financial information and independent analyst reports. Before using this resource for the first time you will need to register as a new user using your University of Strathclyde email address.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our S&P Capital IQ New User Registration Instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
S&P Global's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use can be viewed via links on the site.
Mergent Historical Annual Reports
Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Strathclyde has access to Mergent Historical Annual Reports which contains three collections of historical corporate annual reports, covering US Documents, Canadian Documents, and International Documents.
FitchConnect
- This link opens in a new window
FitchConnect, through its Business Monitor International (BMI) content, provides Global Country Risk & Industry Analysis across Asia, North America, Latin America, Europe, the Middle East & Africa. Search by country and / or industry for: News; Analysis; Political and economic risk assessment. Also provided are Data Tools covering Global Mine, Infrastructure and LNG Key Projects as well as interactive chart options.
Industry research analysis of 22 industry sectors, with company profiles, including pharmaceuticals, oil & gas, telecoms, IT, food & drink, autos, infrastructure, petrochemicals, defence, banking, insurance, transport & tourism.
Please note: Alerts and Daily Briefings functions on FitchConnect are not available to institutional users.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, a global provider of economic and financial information. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Content provides local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events, containing current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
ProQuest One Business
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A business focused interface guides users to a huge range of content including journal articles, books, company, industry and country reports. Other content includes case studies and video content.
Gale Business: Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Company Histories, SWOT Reports, Financial Reports, Investment Reports.

Additional Databases - Company Information

Dept. of Accounting & Finance Research Databases
A list of research databases managed by the Dept. of Accounting & Finance. These databases are available to Faculty Staff and Research Students.

Key Databases - Mergers & Acquisitions

FAME
Financial databases with data on ownership, shareholders, corporate structure and subsidiaries of UK and Irish companies.
S&P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Stock market and financial information. Includes company profiles, executive summaries, financial information and independent analyst reports. Before using this resource for the first time you will need to register as a new user using your University of Strathclyde email address.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. Please follow our S&P Capital IQ New User Registration Instructions to register your account before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
S&P Global's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use can be viewed via links on the site.
Nexis
- This link opens in a new window
A global news and industry database. For Mergers & Acquisitions information. Select the Company tab at the top and then select Mergers & Acquisitions on the left hand side of screen.

Dept. of Accounting & Finance Research Databases
Refinitiv contains M&A deals from around the world since 1970s.
more...less...
Available in the Dept. of Accounting & Finance to Strathclyde Business School staff and Research students.

Government Sources - Mergers & Acquisitions

Office for National Statistics - Mergers & Acquisitions
Mergers & Acquisitions involving UK companies
Business Demography - UK business births and deaths
Foreign Direct Investment involving UK companies - 2021
Includes up to 10 years of data.
Competition and Markets Authority
Replaced the Competition Commission in 2014 as the body that regulates UK mergers.
You can access current CMA and historical CC case reports.
European Commission - Competition - Mergers
The European equivalent of the CMA. Incudes news, legislation, details of current and past merger cases, statistics and relevant publications.

Useful shelf numbers

Useful Mergers & Acquisitions shelf numbers:

D338.83 Economic aspects

D658.16 Management aspects

Journals - Mergers & Acquisitions

Scottish Business Insider
Available via the ABI/INFORM database.
Often includes M & A activity.
Investors Chronicle
Available electronically via the ABI/INFORM Complete database.
Print copies available at 332.6 serial.

Websites

Northcote A gateway to UK annual reports
Companies House All companies based in the UK are required to register with Companies House. Charges are made for company accounts and annual returns.
EDGAR (US Securities and Exchange Commission) US companies registration statements and periodic reports. Information can be accessed and downloaded free of charge
Yahoo Finance Market data, international exchanges, company financial news
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This database covers 2 million companies in the UK & Republic of Ireland; provides company accounts for UK PLCs and larger limited companies; allows comparisons with companies in peer group
Datastream database is only available to Business School staff and research students in the Department of Accounting & Finance. Datastream provides financial and economic research data on companies, industries and countries.
Business Information on the Internet
Kompass Information on 2 million companies in 70 countries
Yell Directory of UK businesses and services
Trade Association Forum A directory of UK trade associations which can be searched by industry or organisation name
AnnualReports.com Free access to US company annual reports
EDGAR Free access to company data, as filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission
Forbes Global 2000 Forbes magazine's ranking of the world's 2000 biggest public companies. Lists can be refined by country and industry sector. Free site.
Fortune 500 Annual ranking of the top US companies. Produced by Fortune magazine. Free site.
Fortune Global 500 Annual ranking of the top 500 corporations worldwide
Kompass: worldwide company search engine Free business-to-business company directory. Contains details of over 4 million companies around the world.
International Directory of Company Histories

Company Information - other Libraries

Business and IP Centre @ the Mitchell - (Mitchell Library, Glasgow)
BIPC @ The Mitchell provides free access to business, financial and news resources.
Business at the NLS
Business resources and services from the National Library of Scotland. Access to market research reports, business databases, international directories, and business and trade journals. Some resources available online, others available in person at the Kelvin Hall in Glasgow and the NLS in Edinburgh.
British Library's Business & IP Centre
Based at the British Library - St Pancras, London.

Information Services Andersonian Library Guides

Economics

Key Databases - Company Information

Additional Databases - Company Information

Key Databases - Mergers & Acquisitions

Government Sources - Mergers & Acquisitions

Useful shelf numbers

Journals - Mergers & Acquisitions

Websites

Company Information - other Libraries