It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News Sources: News Databases
A guide to finding current and historical news items.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, a global provider of economic and financial information. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Content provides local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events, containing current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
(Previously called 'Gale Artemis Primary Sources'.) Gale Primary Sources allows users to search across seven primary source archives from the publisher Gale. This resource replaces NewsVault. The archives are:
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection,
British Library Newspapers - parts 1 and 2 (19th century),
19th Century UK Periodicals,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Financial Times Historical Archive,
The Times Digital Archive and
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.
Nexis provides full-text coverage of newspapers worldwide, plus press releases, transcripts of TV broadcasts, newswires, magazines and trade journals.
Use your University DS login.
Complete digital edition of the Times (London) newspaper from 1785-2019. Access is on the Gale platform and this product can also be searched as part of Gale Primary Sources.
Please note that we also have electronic access to current issues of The Times on the Gale platform and also via other databases. Current content can be accessed via the SUPrimo record for 'The Times', or can be searched as part of Gale OneFile News.