Safety & Risk Management: Home

British Standards Online offers access to the full-text of around 38,500 standards, including European and International standards.

Viewing of the standards requires Adobe Reader and the FileOpen plug-in which can be installed from https://plugin.fileopen.com/all.aspx .

You may print one hard copy and download one electronic copy of each standard/document. You must not create a collection of electronic or print copies that exceeds 5% of the total number of documents in BSOL and documents must not be passed to anyone who is not an authorised user. Excessive downloading or viewing of documents may lead to your access to British Standards being suspended. For more info see the BSOL Terms & Conditions ('Section 8. Proprietary Rights' - DS login required to access this webpage).

Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (OHSIS) provides up-to-date reference sources of key Health and Safety documentation relevant to the workplace. OHSIS covers Health and Safety issues such as training, first aid, electrical safety, manual handling, dangerous substances, fire safety, and environmental health guidance. It also includes a selection of British Standards relating to Health and Safety and government legislation and documentation from organisations such as ROSPA and HSE, all available in full text.

Provides abstracts and full text articles from the academic business publisher MCB. The database covers the subject areas of marketing, general management, human resources, training and education, quality, economics, information management, library and information studies, operations, engineering, production and property.

A business focused interface guides users to a huge range of content including journal articles, books, company, industry and country reports. Other content includes case studies and video content.

Business Source Ultimate includes over 3,500 full text journals (including OA journals) in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes over 15,000 case studies, 1 million company profiles, 5,500 SWOT analyses, 65,000 business videos, 8,000 industry reports and 2,500 market research reports. Other non journal content includes books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, investment research reports, country reports and more.
Includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886.

APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.

Previously known as PILOTS, the PTSDpubs database indexes literature relating to post-traumatic stress disorder and related mental health conditions. It covers assessment, prevention and treatment of these conditions as well as literature relating to public policy and traumatised populations.

Ergonomics Abstracts is a comprehensive and international abstracting service, covering ergonomics and human factors. It includes over 130,000 abstracts covering more than 20 years of ergonomics research articles from over 400 leading journals.

"This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses."

Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.

Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.

Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.

Practical Law is an online legal ‘know how’ service. It provides resources, such as practice notes, current awareness and standard documents to help with legal practice and providing legal advice.

Resources are created and kept up to date by a team of editors who have experience gained in law firms, companies and public sector organisations.

It is integrated with resources on the Westlaw UK service.

Westlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to 'Westlaw International' from the homepage.

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.