LibGuides: Official Publications: How to find official publications: Statistical Information

Scottish Statistics

Scottish Government Statistics
The primary aim of official statistics in Scotland is to provide an accurate up-to-date comprehensive and meaningful picture of the economy and society to support the formulation and monitoring of economic and social policies by government and others.
National Records of Scotland: Statistics and Data
The Department collects, analyses and publishes a wide range of statistical information about Scotland’s people. This includes key statistical trends on: Council Area Profiles; High Level Summaries; and the Registrar General’s Annual Review. It also includes more detailed information on topics such as Households, Life Expectancy, Population, Migration, Vital Events (births, deaths and marriages) and Electoral Statistics.
Scotland's Census
Provides Census results as well as the Census Data Explorer tool, together with supporting information and help with using Census data.
Scottish Social Attitudes
Since 1999 the annual Scottish Social Attitudes survey measures and tracks changes in people's social, political and moral attitudes in Scotland.
statistics.gov.scot
A range of official statistics about Scotland for information and re-use. Explore the data by theme, organisation, or geography. Search for datasets, places or postcodes.

UK Statistics Authority
Information about monitoring, promoting and safeguarding the production of UK official statistics can be found at the UK Statistics Authority website. This includes information about types of official statistics and a list of national statistics.

Office for National Statistics
ONS is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is the recognised national statistical institute for the UK. It collects and publishes statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels. It also conducts the census in England and Wales every ten years.
Data.gov.uk
Data.gov.uk brings together public data in one searchable website. There are datasets available from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.
British Social Attitudes
Carried out annually since 1983. New questions are added each year to reflect current issues, but all questions are designed to chart changes over time.
Social Trends
(2000 - 2011) Social Trends provides a comprehensive description of society, drawing on statistics from a wide range of government departments and other organisations to show how society is changing, as well as some of the factors which may be driving these trends.

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Data can be browsed by theme and there is also access to Eurostat publications.

ILOSTAT Database
The International Labour Organization's central statistics database ILOSTAT provides cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.
UN Data
Statistical information from member states on a variety of topics including: crime, finance, gender, health, industry, ICT, labour, population and trade.
International Statistical Agencies
A list of International Statistical Agencies compiled by the United States Census Bureau.
Word Bank Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

OECD Publications
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) is a forum and knowledge hub for data, analysis and best practices in public policy. OECD Publications provides access to the Organisation's reports, research papers, policy papers and briefs. Content includes case studies and working papers. The OECD site also provides access to statistical data and country information.