Skip to main content

HeinOnline: How to use the HeinOnline database service: Home

How to access the LHeinOnline database service and use it to find legal information

HeinOnline

Log in to HeinOnline


HeinOnline is available both on and off campus. To access the service off campus you require an IT Services DS username and password).

If required, select the link ‘Click here for UK Federation and OpenAthens Login’ and from the ‘Select an Identity Provider’ menu, choose ‘University of Strathclyde’. Enter your DS account details and select ‘Login’.

Welcome Page

In the box at the top of the screen various simple search options are provided.

HeinOnline search box

The ‘Full Text Search’ tab allows you to search across content in all subscribed collections.

The ‘Catalog’ search allows you to search for publication (e.g. journal or book) by title or author. N.B. This will retrieve journals by title but will not retrieve individual articles by title or by author.

Under ‘Browse Collections by Name’ the available databases are listed. To access a database, select the title link (e.g. ‘Law Journal Library’).

Browse collections by name

Help with using the service is available by following ‘Help’ link at the top of the screen.

The University's subscribed content

The University of Strathclyde has access to the following content:

  • Law Journal Library
  • American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
  • Association of American Law Schools (AALS)
  • Canada Supreme Court Reports
  • Code of Federal Regulations
  • Criminal Justice in America: U.S Attorney General Opinions, Reports, and Publications
  • Early American Case Law
  • English Reports
  • European Centre for Minority Issues
  • Federal Register Library
  • Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
  • History of International Law
  • International Law Association Reports
  • Legal Classics
  • Legal Dictionaries
  • Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
  • Pentagon Papers
  • Revised Statutes of Canada
  • Scottish Legal History: Featuring Publications of the Stair Society
  • Statutes of the Realm
  • Trends in Law Library Management and Technology
  • U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection
  • U.S. Code
  • U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
  • U.S. Presidential Library
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
  • U.S. Supreme Court Library
  • U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
  • Women and the Law (Peggy)
  • World Constitutions Illustrated

HeinOnline training videos and guides

HeinOnline content via SUPrimo

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home