Health & Health Promotion: Home

MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts from 1946 onwards, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; sports medicine; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. From 1946 onwards.

Medical research literature. From 1950 onwards.

The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.

Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.

Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.

CINAHL is an index to journals in the allied health and nursing subject areas. As well as indexing over 3000 journals, full text access is provided to over 600 journals. This is a useful database for those studying or researching: Speech and Language Therapy, Sport and Physical Activity, Health Psychology, Digital Health, Pharmacy, Prosthetics and Orthotics and Pharmacology.

APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.

EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.

The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). This version of the Cochrane Library is brought to you by Wiley Interscience.

SPORTDiscus is an index to literature relating to sport, physical education and sports medicine. It includes references to books, book chapters, conference proceedings, journal articles, magazines and dissertations. It covers the period 1800 to present. New for 2022, SPORTDiscus now contains full text coverage for 550 journals from 1930 to the present day.

Previously known as PILOTS, the PTSDpubs database indexes literature relating to post-traumatic stress disorder and related mental health conditions. It covers assessment, prevention and treatment of these conditions as well as literature relating to public policy and traumatised populations.