Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins to the end of the seventeenth century. It provides full text access to materials from up to the end of the seventeenth century. Strathclyde has access to Early European Books Collections 1 to 4 on the ProQuest platform.
Full text of Medieval and Early Modern books. Searches digitised versions of documents relating to Colonial, English, Irish and Scottish history. Covers the period 1100 - 1800.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure. This resource covers the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain. Content is drawn from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia, and National Library of South Africa. Topics covered include the rarely documented aspects of women, children, humour, and leisure activity in the Victorian age. The rise of magazine publishing is reflected in the selection of publications, which spans publications aimed at and tailored to various audiences, including women and children.
You can either search Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals on its own here, or with other primary sources using Gale Primary Sources.
Romanticism Redefined: Pickering & Chatto and the Wordsworth Circle is a searchable collection of works focusing on the period between 1800 and 1830. It currently contains over 120,000 pages of Pickering & Chatto publications as well as the complete run of The Wordsworth Circle, an international academic journal devoted to the study of English literature, culture, and society during the Romantic era.
Strathclyde users please note that we do not have access to all the content contained in the wider Romantic Era Redefined collection. To view only those materials which are accessible, ensure that the search setting "Include sample content" is set to off.
Access to the complete works of Ben Jonson alongside an extensive critical and documentary archive. This resource provides access to Jonson's plays, court masques and entertainments, poems, prose and letters. It is possible to search this resource using either old English spelling, or modern spelling. From 2018-2022, access to this database was purchased through the generosity of Keith Wright Endowment Fund. The resource is now publicly accessible.
Access to a range of eBooks within the Oxford World's Classics collection, from the publisher Oxford University Press. This collection provides access to over 300 novels from the 18th and 19th centuries, from authors such as Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, Thomas Hardy, H.G. Wells and many more.
Access to Early English Books Online, a collection of over 146,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Online Supplement. This resource provides access to digital facsimile page images of virtually every work published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works printed in English elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. This resource was previously available as part of the Jisc Historical Texts service.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contains over 180,000 titles, 200,000 volumes published between 1701 and 1800. As well as materials in English, books written in Welsh, Latin, French, German, Dutch, Italian and Spanish are included. Topics include: history, law, fine arts, religion, literature and science. This resource was previously available as part of the Jisc Historical Texts service.
