LibGuides: English Studies and Creative Writing: Home

Top databases for English Studies and Creative Writing

National Theatre Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to volumes one and two of the National Theatre collection. This resource provides access to 50 filmed performances from the National Theatre's live broadcasts. Productions include: Cat on a hot tin roof; King Lear; Jane Eyre; Antigone; Hedda Gabler; A view from the bridge and the Barber shop chronicles and more. Learning materials are available to accompany the performances.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text provides access to references to journal articles, books, and dissertations in disciplines including: language, literature, folklore, film studies, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts from the early 20th century to the present. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. Full text access to over 1000 journals is included.

This is an upgraded version of MLA International Bibliography containing additional full text access.
Humanities Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a useful resource for anyone studying or researching the humanities. It provides full text access to over 1400 journals and citations to over 3.5 million articles including book reviews.
Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature provides access to a wide range of literary resources including:

Contemporary Authors Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Centre
LitFinder
Scribner Writer Series
Something About the Author Online
Twayne's Authors Series

For more information about each source click on What's Inside from the main search screen.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
- This link opens in a new window
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains over a million records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1892 onwards.
Early English Books Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Early English Books Online, a collection of over 146,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Online Supplement. This resource provides access to digital facsimile page images of virtually every work published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works printed in English elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. This resource was previously available as part of the Jisc Historical Texts service.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contains over 180,000 titles, 200,000 volumes published between 1701 and 1800. As well as materials in English, books written in Welsh, Latin, French, German, Dutch, Italian and Spanish are included. Topics include: history, law, fine arts, religion, literature and science. This resource was previously available as part of the Jisc Historical Texts service.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Useful for English and Creative Writing, Languages and Speech and Language Therapy.

Related databases for English Studies and Creative Writing

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature (over 1,600 journals) of the arts and humanities from 1975 to date. Useful for: Architecture, History, Languages, English Literature, Journalism and Speech and Language Therapy.
Humanities Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscribes to the following JSTOR journal collections: Arts & Sciences I,II,III,IV & VII, and Business II. JSTOR archives contains the full-text of non-current issues of journals digitised back to the first issue published to a date generally 3 to 5 years from the most current published issue. We also have access to current content for a few publications on the JSTOR platform. The Library also has access to the JSTOR digitised collection of 19th Century British Pamphlets.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to selected eBooks in the Literature subject area of the Oxford Handbooks Online series, from the publisher Oxford University Press. Our access is to titles up to and including the 2018 Literature handbooks only. SUPrimo contains records for the titles Strathclyde users can access.
Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to many of Oxford University Press's reference e-book titles on their digital platform.
London Stage
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The London Stage is a reference work documenting theatrical performances in eighteenth-century London. The resource covers performances from the period 1660-1800. Information has been compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period. It is possible to search by actor, role, performance, theatre or date.
Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.
Routledge History of Feminism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Routledge History of Feminism resource covers the period of the long nineteenth century (1776-1928). It includes primary and secondary resources including books, chapters, journal articles and more. Themes of the resource are: politics and law; religion and belief; education; literature and writings; women at home; society and culture; empire and movements and ideologies.
Communication Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source provides access to information and resources in areas related to communication and mass media. Full text access is provided to over 300 journals. Useful for: English and Creative Writing, Journalism, Media and Communication, Languages, Speech and Language Therapy.
EEBO-TCP (Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EEBO-TCP is a partnership with ProQuest and with more than 150 libraries to generate highly accurate, fully-searchable, SGML/XML-encoded texts corresponding to books from the Early English Books Online (EEBO) database.

Strathclyde staff and students can access page images from EEBO via the Historical Text service.