This guide is for FE College students. If you are a BA Education and Social Services student at the University (3rd or 4th year), please go to the main guide:
If you are a college student on the BA Education and Social Services course you can apply for a card to access the Library at the University of Strathclyde. Members of the Library team will provide more information about this at your induction to the Library, or you can contact help@strath.ac.uk for more information.
This card allows you access to the Library building and borrow up to 5 items. However, until you register with the University and become a Strathclyde student - usually in your third year - you will not have the full borrowing privileges of an undergraduate student. You will not have an IT username and password so will not be able to access the PCs or our password-protected online services.
You may find the following services and resources of use while you are a college student:
These resources are publicly accessible and do not require a password to access. However, not all content retrieved through these resources may not be available as full-text without a password. (Once you are a registered student at the University you will have access to our full range of password-protected online resources.)
This link opens in a new windowSUPrimo is the University of Strathclyde Library's integrated search service.
Use SUPrimo to search our print and electronic library collections, including: books - journal titles - databases - electronic resources - theses - exam papers - media resources - course material.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. The interface allows you to search by subject area and provides access to articles, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and other types of scholarly output.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowLegislation.gov.uk contains the official revised version of UK primary legislation including all in-force Public General Acts of the (now) UK Parliament, Acts of the pre-1707 Scottish Parliament and Acts of the devolved Scottish Parliament. At present there is a delay in revising legislation, but that which is awaiting revision should be noted as such. The service also provides access to unrevised versions of some SIs and SSIs and post-1991 UK Local Acts.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA ‘quality-assured, global directory of Open Access repositories'. You can search and browse using a range of different criteria, including content type or country.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAccess to bibliographic references of grey literature from Europe. Grey literature includes technical and research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference proceedings and some official publications.
This link opens in a new windowFull text of Scottish Government publications from 1997 onwards.
Eligible users include undergraduate and postgraduate students who undergo placements or training with the NHS and social services.
If you are in any doubt about eligibility, please contact knowledge@nes.scot.nhs.uk for advice.
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Only available to staff in relevant departments and students whose courses include placements in health and social care.
The Knowledge Network is the national knowledge management platform for health and social care in Scotland.
The Knowledge Network library search offers a single interface to search NHSScotland’s national collection of electronic resources (e-journals, articles and e-books) provided by NHS Education for Scotland. Contains CINAHL.
You should get into the habit of referencing any sources you draw on in your own work. This is:
You should include a reference every time you quote, paraphrase (i.e. write someone's information in your own words), summarise or gain ideas from another person's work.
You should include a reference no matter what format the work takes (e.g. web page, journal article, email or diagram).
Many Departments and Faculties at the University of Strathclyde also produce their own specific guidance for citation requirements
It is therefore advisable that you confirm these with your department in the first instance.
On the BA Education and Social Services course you will normally be asked to use the 'APA 7' style to reference sources in your work. You can find guidance on using APA 7 style from these resources:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh edition by 