LibGuides: Criminology: Home

Key Databases - Criminology

Criminology Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Criminology Collection collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. It includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, with further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals. It also includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.
Subject coverage includes: criminology.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Westlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to 'Westlaw International' from the homepage.
Users should sign in to this resource using University credentials. First time users (and users who have not accessed Westlaw in over 15 months) will also be prompted to register an account. Please follow our Westlaw Registration Instructions before accessing the resource for the first time.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. Users are not required to create a separate password for this resource.
Thomson Reuter's Privacy Policy and Cookies information can be viewed via links on the site.
Lexis+ UK Legal Research
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a legal research database. The University’s subscription includes access to the ‘Law Journal Library’, ‘Scottish Legal History’ and ‘English Reports, Full Reprint’ databases. All content within HeinOnline is image-based in PDF format and fully searchable.
Social Science Premium Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Sociology Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 255 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Social Sciences Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences from 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Coverage is from 1898 to date.

Additional databases - Criminology

Additional databases - Criminology
All databases related to the subject Criminology - derived from the A-Z list.

Browsing Criminology Journals

Research Skills Resources

Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.

Doing Criminological Research by Pamela Davies; Peter Francis
Call Number: D 364.072 DOI
ISBN: 9781473902732
Publication Date: 2018
This book brings together a range of experts in the field to provide key perspectives on how to prepare, do and present research. Each chapter comes with a range of learning features and contextualised case studies, giving an in-depth review on conducting research projects.
Doing Your Research Project: a guide for first-time researchers 7th edn by Judith Bell; Stephen Waters
Call Number: D 370.72 BEL
ISBN: 9780335243396
Publication Date: 2018
Research can be daunting, particularly for first-timers, but this book provides everything you need to know to prepare for, research, draft and finalise a methodologically sound and well-written report or thesis, plus it warns you of potential pitfalls to prevent you wasting time on false trails.
Social Research by Tim May
Call Number: D 300.72 MAY
ISBN: 9780335235674
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The book is divided into two parts, with part one examining the issues and perspectives in social research and part two setting out the methods and processes.

Useful shelf numbers

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme where each subject is represented by a number.

You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

e.g. D 361.32 KOP

Here are some useful Social Work and Social Policy shelf numbers:

D 300 Social sciences (General)
D 361.3 Social work
D 361.61 Social policy
D 362 Social welfare problems & services
D 364 Criminology
D 909 Human geography

Contact Faculty Librarian

Gareth Ryan

Email Me

Subjects: Centre for Lifelong Learning, Criminology, Education & Social Services, Genealogical, Palaeographic and Heraldic Studies, Government & Public Policy, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Politics & International Relations, Safety & Risk Management, Social Policy, Social Work, Social Work & Social Policy

Information Services Andersonian Library Guides

Criminology

More Support