LibGuides: Computer and Information Sciences: Home

Key Databases - Computer and Information Sciences

Inspec [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
Inspec database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
ACM Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM journals, magazines, newsletters and proceedings since 1954, together with the Guide to Computing Literature bibliographic database. Full-text is available for all ACM publications and bibliographic information for other major computing publishers.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science - SpringerLink (MetaPress)
We have access to titles in this collection from Volume 1, 1973. The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching - quickly, informally, and at a high level. The cornerstone of LNCS's editorial policy is its unwavering commitment to report the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education. LNCS has always enjoyed close cooperation with the computer science R & D community, with numerous renowned academics, and with prestigious institutes and learned societies.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
- This link opens in a new window
This database currently abstracts and indexes over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Additional Databases - Computer and Information Sciences

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Web of Science - all databases
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
ScienceDirect [Elsevier]
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
MEDLINE [Ovid platform]
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. From 1946 onwards.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
CINAHL
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an index to journals in the allied health and nursing subject areas. As well as indexing over 3000 journals, full text access is provided to over 600 journals. This is a useful database for those studying or researching: Speech and Language Therapy, Sport and Physical Activity, Health Psychology, Digital Health, Pharmacy, Prosthetics and Orthotics and Pharmacology.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Videos, guides and help - Computer and Information Sciences

Engineering Village Tutorials
Short videos covering the Engineering Village platform. Inspec, Compendex and Geobase databases are available through this platform.
Scopus LibGuide
Guide to using the Scopus database.
IEEE courses - Computing
IEEE Computing courses in Software Engineering and Cloud Computing available through the IEEE Xplore platform. Choose "Institutional Sign in" and Strathclyde University to get access. You may be asked for your DS username and password.
ScienceDirect LibGuide
Guide to using the ScienceDirect database.
Web of Science Platform Training
Get Started with Web of Science. Includes the self-guided Web of Science course and other resources to help you use databases available from the Web of Science platform.

Knovel - Ebooks and interactive formulae

Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel is an online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases. It has extensive coverage across all Engineering disciplines and Chemistry.

Knovel also provides additional tools. A substantial unit conversion tool, key interactive formulae from the major engineering and chemistry professional bodies, tables and graphs that allow users to manipulate, analyze, and export data.
Strathclyde members should access Knovel using library records in SUPrimo, A-Z, LibGuides, Reading Lists etc. and sign in using University credentials. Strathclyde members should not create a My Knovel account with a separate Knovel password.
Knovel allows users to register a profile for access to personalised features. This is optional. Please read our Knovel Login and Profile user guide for information on how to register a profile. Elsevier's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy can be accessed via the links on the Knovel website.

Related Guides - Computer and Information Sciences

Mathematics and Statistics
by Elaine Blair Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 57 views this year

Useful shelf numbers - Computer and Information Sciences

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful CIS shelfmarks.

D 003 Systems

D 020 Library and information sciences

D 029 Information science

D 005 Computer programming

Faculty Librarian

Elaine Blair

Email Me

Subjects: Biosciences, Computer & Information Sciences, Forensic Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Pharmacy & Pharmacology, Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Science, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences